Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Contracts

A guide to locating sources of information on contract law and on drafting contracts.

Finding Books

Materials in the Widener University Libraries are classed according to the Library of Congress classification schedule.  When performing a subject search in the online library catalog, use the subject heading "contracts" to find materials in the Widener libraries on Contract Law: 

You can also perform a keyword search using the word “contracts.”  A keyword search is a broader search and you will likely receive more hits than if you performed a subject specific search.  In order to limit the number of hits retrieved, you may wish to combine your keyword term with other search terms.

Search the Library Catalog

Finding Books in the Library

Materials in the Widener University Libraries are classed according to the Library of Congress classification schedule.  You may perform a subject, author, or title search in the online library catalog (http://libcat.widener.edu/) to find materials in the Widener libraries.

You can also perform a keyword search.  A keyword search is a broader search and you will likely receive more hits than if you performed a subject specific search.

Finding Journal Articles

To locate journal articles, perform a search in one of the databases listed below.  The following databases are listed on the library’s webpage under Library Resources.

Use the databases to search for articles on your topic.  Some databases provide full-text display of articles while others only provide citations to, or abstracts of, articles.  Some of the databases linked to in this Guide are subscription databases.  Access is available to these databases on the Widener Campus and also off campus.

Lexis & Westlaw - all Widener students have an individual Lexis & Westlaw password. If you have trouble with your password please contact Lexis or Westlaw.

Other Databases - When using other databases off campus you may be prompted for your name and library barcode number.  The library barcode number is printed on the back of your student ID.

Accessing Databases From Off Campus

Some of the databases linked to in this guide are subscription databases. Access is available to these databases on the Widener Law Commonwealth campus and off.

Lexis & Westlaw - all Widener Law Commonwealth students have an individual passwords to Lexis & Westlaw. If you have trouble with your password please contact Lexis or Westlaw.

Other databases - When using other databases off campus you may be prompted for your name/email and/or ID or library barcode number. (The library barcode number is printed on the back of your student ID.)

Obtaining Books and Articles through InterLibrary Loan

If none of the Widener libraries owns the book or article you need, you may request it through InterLibrary Loan.  ILLiad is the InterLibrary Loan service used by Widener.  Please note that you must first register for ILLiad before you can request materials through InterLibrary Loan.  To register, click on the InterLibrary Loan link listed under the "Library Services" section on the Library's homepage at:  Widener Law Commonwealth Library

Next select the campus on which you are located, and click on "First Time Users."  Once you have registered, fill in as much of the request form as possible.  The more information you provide, the better.  If you are a registered user of ILLiad, simply enter your username and password to continue. 

Most photocopies will be delivered electronically.  You will be notified via your Widener email account with a link to your article, which will be in pdf format.

All InterLibrary Loans, except copied articles, must be returned to the Information Desk by the due date.