Skills and Values - Students have the opportunity to engage in active, "hands-on" learning by working through a stand-alone exercise that simulates a real-life legal dilemma. The exercises are as authentic as possible, incorporating materials such as legal pleadings, motions, correspondence, judicial opinions, statutes, discovery materials, and deposition excerpts. The self-assessment tool included at the end of each chapter suggests ways that a practicing attorney might have approached each exercise. It is not meant to provide "the answer," but to identify issues and strategies students should have considered in order to effectively represent a client.
Mastering Administrative Law - The book explicitly and in plain language identifies the functions of the various principles of administrative law. To facilitate the mastery of topics, this book includes a Roadmap at the beginning of each chapter that provides readers with an overview of the material that will be covered; Checkpoints at the end of each chapter that reiterate what has been learned; and a Master Checklist at the end of the book that reinforces what has been covered and helps readers identify any areas that need review or further study.
Questions and Answers Administrative Law - This study guide uses over 200 multiple-choice and short-answer questions to test your knowledge of administrative law and procedure. It includes an introduction to the study of administrative law and the Administrative Procedure Act, as well as such topics as rulemaking procedures, adjudication procedures and due process, retroactivity, non-legislative rules, reviewability, agency structure, inspections, reports, subpoenas, the Freedom of Information Act, and attorneys' fees.
Each multiple-choice question is accompanied by a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question (designed to be answered in no more than fifteen minutes) is followed by a thoughtful, yet brief, model answer. Q & A: Administrative Law also includes a comprehensive topical index.
Understanding Administrative Law - A good deal of the material in this book consists of recommendations and processes to identify administrative problems and mechanisms for organizing a reader's thinking when the problem is identified. Understanding Administrative Law highlights the manner in which a client's problem moves through the typical agency and the manner in which a lawyer copes with the various problems and issues encountered in representing clients before administrative agencies. In addition, this book contains a significant amount of material on trends in administrative law such as deregulation and regulatory reform.
Acing Administrative Law - The book uses flowchart-style checklists to show students how to analyze administrative law exam questions—in ways that are both efficient and effective (and which do not generally match the sequencing of topics in most admin law courses). For example, students should always begin with a single baseline query when answering an admin law exam question: “Does this agency action involve rulemaking or adjudication?” As with all the Acing books, each chapter begins with a brief review of the important rules and concepts that govern a particular area of administrative law. The review material is followed by a flowchart that provides students with a clear roadmap for answering exam questions. Each chapter includes practice problems with solutions illustrating how to use the flowchart to analyze specific issues. The book concludes with a comprehensive flowchart and a practice problem, so that students can see how all the parts fit together.
Administrative Law - This treatise sets forth a comprehensive analysis of administrative law in the United States. Administrative law continues to evolve in interesting ways in all of its various dimensions. The authors address the new developments in the law of standing, congressional attempts to make agencies more accountable, and the continuing evolution of Chevron deference, among other issues. The fundamental purposes of this book are to assess and explain fundamental doctrines of administrative law, placing some of the most important aspects of those doctrines in a historical context, and setting forth the current state of the law. The book is intended to serve practitioners, scholars and students of administrative law.
Administrative Law - Pierce's Administrative Law discusses and analyzes principal concepts of administrative law and process, including: The political and legal nature of administrative law Legislative control of administrative discretion Executive control of administrative discretion Judicial control of agency discretion (threshold issues, procedural issues, substantive issues) Access to private and public information
Administrative Law of Health Care in a Nutshell - This Nutshell addresses the administrative law governing the financing and delivery of health care. Administrative law governs the administrative operations of government agencies. It sets the powers that administrative agencies may exercise, establishes the legal principles governing the exercise of those powers, and provides legal remedies to those aggrieved by the actions of agencies. State and federal agencies are deeply involved in the financing and delivery of health care. They address public health, licensure of professionals and facilities and financing health care services through public health insurance programs. The reach of administrative law governing state and federal healthcare agencies is immense and immensely important to the financing and delivery of American health care.
Administrative Law and Process in a Nutshell - This book offers a concise, knowledgeable guide to administrative law. In straightforward, readable prose, the authors not only summarize the dominant statutes and case law in the area, but also discuss informal administrative processes and the background realities of the regulatory state. Students can use the book as a complement to any major casebook, and practitioners will also find it an excellent brief introduction to this complex and important subject.
Administrative Law Stories - This book explores the statutory and historical setting of the cases presented, rather than mere doctrine. It examines lawyers’ judgments and tactics in detail, and frequently references recently revealed papers of Supreme Court Justices to discuss the often surprising elements of Court decisions. Students learn how disputes are handled at the administrative level, before they ever get to court – a perspective essential to understanding the field, but difficult to discern from the reported cases. The commentary also addresses how decisions can affect future developments, helping students understand how administrative disputes develop and the role lawyers play in developing them.
Black Letter Outline on Administrative Law - This work helps you recognize and understand the basic principles and issues of administrative law covered in law school courses. It can be used both as a study aid when preparing for classes and as a review of the subject matter when studying for an examination. This outline covers rulemaking, adjudications, choice of procedures and non-legislative rules, the availability of judicial review, inspections, reports and subpoenas, agency structure, public access to agency processes, and attorney's fees.
Gilbert Law Summary on Administrative Law - This product is a comprehensive outline for law school study of Administrative Law, including capsule summary, tips for exam-taking, and review questions. Topics covered include separation of powers and controls over agencies, constitutional right to hearing, and adjudication under the Administrative Procedure Act. It also covers formal adjudication, adjudicatory decision makers, bias, improper influences, ex parte communications, familiarity with the record, res judicata, rulemaking procedures, obtaining information, scope of judicial review, reviewability of agency decisions, standing to seek judicial review, and timing.
High Court Case Summaries - High Court briefs are written to present the essential facts, issue, decision and rationale for each case in a clear, concise manner. While prepared briefs can never substitute for the insight gained by actually reading a case, these briefs will help readers to identify, understand, and absorb the core “take away” knowledge from each case. Moreover, these briefs are followed by a useful legal analysis, which provides extra tips and contextual background about each case, connecting the case to the broader concepts being developed throughout the casebook. This book also supplies case vocabulary, which defines new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases. Finally, to enhance the reader’s recall, there is a corresponding memory graphic for each brief that portrays an entertaining visual representation of the relevant facts or law of the case.
Law School Legends Audio on Administrative Law - This audio lecture features Professor Patrick J. Borchers condensing administrative law into one lecture that includes law, hypotheticals, and exam tips. It includes classification of agencies, adjudicative and investigative action, rule making power, delegation doctrine, control by the executive, appointment and removal, and the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). Also discussed are rule making procedure, adjudicative procedure, trial type hearings, the powers of administrative law judges, constitutional limits on agency action, and judicial review issues. This lecture clearly explains statutory limitations on judicial review, standing, exhaustion of administrative remedies, and the scope of judicial review.
Principles of Administrative Law - This book provides an accessible, yet sophisticated treatment of the essential principles of administrative law. Topics covered include a history of the American administrative state; theories of agency behavior; separation of powers and procedural due process, as they are implicated by the administrative process; the procedural framework of the Administrative Procedure Act; formal adjudicatory procedure; informal rulemaking procedure; and the availability, timing, and scope of judicial review. The book includes charts and diagrams that assist the reader in visualizing the major elements of the administrative process.
A Short and Happy Guide to Administrative Law - This efficient and concise Guide explains complex Administrative Law concepts in accessible language without sacrificing the nuance that distinguishes a superior exam performance from an average one. It follows a logical sequence of topics used by many professors in their classes, starting with the constitutional foundations of the administrative state, continuing through the procedural requirements for agency rulemaking and adjudication, then the rules governing judicial review of agency action, and concluding with agency control over information.
Casenote Legal Briefs for Administrative Law -
Friedman's Practice Series for Administrative Law -
Friedman's Practice Series is keyed to exam preparation with real law school essay exams, model answers, multiple choice questions and academic analysis, and offers students insights into writing essay exams in core courses.
Administrative Law - In Other Words Video Series/In Other Words Audio Series - In these Administrative Law lectures, Michael R. Dimino, Sr. explains the topics of Agency Power to Adjudicate, Appointment and Removal of Agency Officers, Biases within Agencies, Congress's Delegation of Authority to the Agency, Due Process, Informal Notice and Comment Rulemaking Procedure, Judicial Review of Agency Determinations of Law, Judicial Review of Agency Findings of Fact, Policymaking in Rulemaking and Adjudication, Standing.
Emanuel Law CrunchTime for Administrative Law - Emanuel CrunchTime skillfully employs flow charts so you can walk step-by-step through the major principles and topics in the course in a pattern that can be used to analyze any exam question. Abundant tips and ample review features help you approach the final with confidence. The Capsule Summary allows you to quickly review key concepts, and you can test your knowledge by working through the many Short-Answer Q&A s. CrunchTime lets you practice your essay exam skills as well. Exams Tips based on hundreds of past law school and bar exam questions recap the legal issues commonly tested. CrunchTime study aids structure the maximum amount of information you can learn in the last week before exams.
Emanuel Law Outlines for Administrative Law - Each title includes both capsule and detailed versions of the critical issues and key topics you must know to master the course. Also included are exam questions with model answers, an alpha-list of cases, and a cross reference table of cases for all of the leading casebooks.
Examples and Explanations for Administrative Law -
Here’s why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester:
Inside Administrative Law: What Matters and Why - Unlike heavily abridged treatises, the Inside Series is carefully written in a concise, straightforward style that clearly identifies the essential components of the law and how they fit together. You can quickly learn what is important and why. Overviews and Tables of Contents in each chapter act as a roadmap to guide you through topics, showing you how each relates to the larger legal framework. FAQs clarify points of law and help you avoid common mistakes and misconceptions. Sidebars give fascinating additional detail from legal history, policy, famous cases and more. The graphic design supports your visual learning, and features such as bolded key terms, summaries, and Connections help reinforce your understanding while giving you ample opportunity for self-review.