Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Student Services

Study Aids

A Study Aid is a secondary source that covers a specific type of law. They give explanations, analysis, and overviews of topics, making them particularly useful for students.

Study Aids Online: West Academic Collection

All Widener Law Commonwealth students, faculty and staff will have unlimited online access to 500+ West Academic Study Aids Subscription. 

Study Aid Series in the online collection include:

  • Acing
  • Black Letter Outlines
  • Concepts and Insights
  • Concise Hornbook Series
  • Exam Pro (now with interactive quizzing)
  • Gilbert Law Summaries
  • Nutshells
  • Sum & Substance Audio
  • and more...

Accessing the Online Collection

  1. Go to the West Academic Study Aids Subscription website.
  2. Create an account using your Widener email address. 
  3. After your account is created, you can sign in to your account anytime, anywhere.

Offline Reading

Study anywhere and on any device when you download the RedShelf app for reading and the West Academic Audio app for listening.

How to use the apps for offline studying.


Watch the West Academic Study Aids Collection- 2021 on YouTube for an overview.

Need more help?  Watch the West Academic Study Aids Collection Student Guide on YouTube.

Additional Access Instructions are below.

Study Aids Online: LexisNexis Digital Library Collection

All Widener Law Commonwealth students and faculty will have unlimited and simultaneous online access to 160+ LexisNexis Digital Library Study Aids Subscription. 

Study Aid Series in the online collection include:

  • Understanding
  • Questions and Answers
  • Skills and Values
  • Mastering
  • and more…

Accessing the Online Collection

Access to the LexisNexis Digital Library for 1L Students will be available after the first week of classes during the fall semester.

  1. Go to your LexisNexis Digital Library page
  2. Sign in with your school’s credentials:
    1. User ID Widener email address
    2. Password/PIN Widener photo ID number (first 7 digits)
    3. How to use the LexisNexis Digital Library 

If you encounter this screen

email address and ID number, sign in

  1. Widener email address
  2. ID number = first 7 digits on the front of your photo ID (University ID Number)

If you encounter this screen

organization's library code

Enter widenerlawcw as the library code

Offline Reading

  • The LexisNexis Digital Library app will be available in the GooglePlay™ store and Apple® App Store.
  • Users should enter the following Library Code as they complete their app profile: widenerlawcw
  • Click for additional app information.

Study Aids Online: Wolters Kluwer Online Study and Library Subscription

All Widener Law Commonwealth students and faculty will have unlimited and simultaneous online access to 180+ Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aid Library Subscription. Click for more information on the Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aid Library Subscription

Study Aid Series in the online collection include:

  • Academic Success
  • Casenote Legal Briefs
  • Emanuel Law Outlines
  • Examples & Explanations
  • Friedman's Practice
  • Glannon Guides
  • Inside Series
  • Jumpstart
  • and some bar exam study guides

Accessing the Online Collection

Access to the Wolters Kluwer Online Study and Library Subscription for 1L Students will be available after the first week of classes during the fall semester.

  1. Go to library card login page
  2. Choose your institution from the drop-down list
  3. Add a 1 to the end of the first part of your Widener email and enter as your library card number i.e. jmdoe1
    1. Some students might need to try adding 20 at the end of the first part of your Widener email, instead of 1
  4. You can personalize your experience by creating a “sub-login.” Once you are logged in to your institution, click "To Personalize Login or Create Account" to create a sub-login
  5. Click "Sign Up"
  6. Fill out the form to create a sub-login
    1. In order to highlight and take notes, etc., you must create a sub-login account​​​​​​

For more information, watch the WK How to Video on YouTube.

Study Aids in Print

Widener Law Commonwealth's library houses study aids in the Library Lobby.  Study Aids in print may be checked out for three days and are renewable for an additional loan period unless there is a hold on the item. 

Study Aid Series in the print collection include:

  • Examples & Explanations
  • Hornbooks
  • Sum & Substance CDs
  • Understanding 
  • Bar exam preparation materials
  • Books on Legal Writing
  • Guides on preparing for and writing law school exams
  • and more...