Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Mobile Applications: Research & News

There's more than one app for that! This guide explores some of the more popular and useful apps for law students.

Legal Research & Reference Apps

Congressional Record

Name:  Congressional Record

Device:  iPad and iPhone

Summary:  Free app gives you access to the Congressional Record.

Docket in Your Pocket

Name:  Docket in Your Pocket

Device:  Apple and Android

Summary:  Provides access to records in Pennsylvania's Criminal Courts of Common Pleas, Magisterial District Courts, and Philadelphia Municipal Court.  Available to be downloaded for $14.99.

Name: Fastcase

Device: Apple and Android

Summary:  Fastcase allows you to quickly look up cases on the go. The baisc version is free.                 

HeinOnline

Name:  HeinOnline

Device: iPad and iPhone

Summary: Provides access to the HeinOnline content under your current subscription.

Law.com Dictionary

Name:  Law.com

Device:  Android

Summary:  Newly released, free law dictionary app that contains over 11,000 terms.

Lexis Advance

Name: Lexis Advance

Device: iPad and iPhone

Summary: Lexis Advance mobile app is free to download, but you have be a Lexis Advance Subcriber to access the services.  
Nolo Dictionary

Name:  Nolo's Plain English Law Dictionary

Device: iPad and iPhone

Summary:  A free legal dictionary containing nearly 4000 terms.

WestlawNext

Name:  WestlawNext

Device: Apple and Android

Summary: WestlawNext mobile app is free to download, but you have to be a WestlawNext subscriber to access the services.

Legal News Apps

Name: ABA Journal

Device: iPhone and iPad 

Summary:  The ABA Journal privdes this free app so you can keep up with various news stories and articles. 

The American Lawyer

Name:  The American Lawyer

Device: Apple and Android

Summary:  This free app allows users to read the popular magazine from their mobile devices.

CCH Tax News Highlights

Name: CCH Tax News Highlights

Device: Apple and Android

Summary:  Download this free app to catch up on the latest state and federal tax news.  A free registration is required.

SCOTUS

Name:  SCOTUS Blog

Device:  iPhone and iPad

Summary: A free app that services as a resource for news related to the Supreme Court. of the United States.