Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Insurance Law

This guide is produced in conjunction with Professor Christopher Robinette's Insurance Law Seminar.

Insurance News

Insurance Coverage Law Bulletin.  Produced monthly by Law Journal Newsletters and available through Lexis+ it contains insurance news and articles dealing with insurance trends and topics.

Mealey's Insurance Reports. Mealey's, available through Lexis+, publishes a series of news and litigation reports.  There are a number of Mealey's Reports available on insurance topics.  

Insurance Emerging Issues.  As its title implies this resource, available through Lexis+, discusses trends in insurance law including recent court decisions and governmental actions.  

New Appleman on Insurance:  Current Critical Issues in Insurance Law.  Available as part of the Applemen on Insurance Treatise, this title is published quarterly and contains in depth articles on cutting edge issues of insurance law.  It is available in print in the library and on the Lexis+ Database. 

Westlaw Journal Insurance Coverage and Westlaw Journal Insurance Bad Faith.   These weekly newsletters are available through Westlaw and  contain news of interest to those dealing with insurance. 

Newspapers

Newspaper articles, current and historical, may also be a source for insurance information. Lexis+, and Westlaw provide full text news coverage.  Be sure to check the coverage when researching these databases.  Full text coverage of the New York Times and Wall Street Journal from inception are available through ProQuest.

SSRN

Working papers and drafts of articles as well as published articles can be found using the Social Science Research Network (SSRN).  Found on the web www.ssrn.com, you can search across disciplines for articles, or limit to a particular area such as legal.  

Treatises

There are a number of insurance treatises that deal with specific aspects of insurance law such as automobile liability, health or corporate  as examples.  Many of these treatises are available through one of the commercial services such as Lexis and Westlaw.  You may also search the library catalog for insurance titles available at Widener.  If you are unfamiliar with the various aspects of insurance law you might wish to start with a general insurance law treatise.  The two most recommended treatises are Appleman on Insurance and Couch on Insurance.

Legal Periodical Indexes

LegalTrac, Index to Legal Periodicals and  Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective (1908-1981) are legal periodical indexes that can help you to identify law review articles that are on point with your topic.  LegalTrac, ILP and ILPRetrospective are available both on and off campus from the list of Legal Information Center databases.  Some articles are available full text.  Another option is to click on the Link Source Image which will provide information on where the full text of the article is available; i.e., (West, Lexis, Hein or another database and allow you to link directly).  

Non Legal Periodical Indexes

Insurance issues will often be covered in journals other than law.   Journals dealing with social policy, economics as well as general academic journals or peer reviewed journals may prove a valuable resource in researching your topic.   Use EbscoHost or ProQuest  which are available as Legal Information Center Databases to search for journals.  Many of the issues will be available full text. 

Full Text Periodical Databases