LibGuides: Insurance Law: Web and Other Resources

Insurance Web Links

Insurance associations can be a valuable resource for locating news, statistics, and publications. Search the Encyclopedia of Associations on LEXIS for a listing of such associations. Below is a sample of the listings that you can find there.

ABA Tort Trial & Insurance Practice Section (TIPS)
This ABA section focuses on trial practice and critical issues of justice that involve tort and insurance law.
National Association of Insurance Commissioners
The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) is a regulatory support organization created and governed by the chief insurance regulators from the 50 states, the District of Columbia and five U.S. territories. Through the NAIC, state insurance regulators establish standards and best practices, conduct peer review, and coordinate their regulatory oversight.
International Risk Management Institute
IRMI is a research and publishing company focusing on risk management and insurance. Its website contains free newsletters, expert commentary and a resource directory of insurance brokers, agents, attorneys and consultants.
Center for Insurancy Policy & Research
An arm of NAIC, the CIPR provides research for state, federal and international policy makers. Reports and newsletters are available on this site.
American Insurance Association
American Insurance Association represents companies providing property and casualty insurance and suretyship. Monitors and reports on economic, political, and social trends; serves as a clearinghouse for ideas, advice, and technical information. The "News" link on their website provides you an idea with issues that the AIA is monitoring.
American Council of Life Insurers
Represents the interests of life insurance companies in legislative, regulatory and judicial matters. Research, publications, and news available on its website.
Insurance Research Council
The Insurance Research Council provides research and analysis examining important public policy matters that affect consumers, insurers and policymakers.
International Insurance Society
Facilitates international understanding and the transfer of ideas and innovations among insurance markets through a joint effort of leading executives and academics on a worldwide basis. Maintains a "Research in Progress" publications page on its website.

Government Reports

Government Printing Office
The United States Government Printing Office provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government
Government Statistics
Use this website to search for government statistics over a range of topics and or by geography.
Congressional Research Service CRS Reports
Part of the Library of Congress. Experts prepare reports on a number of topics for their client, the United States Congress.

Blogs

Below is a selected list of blogs dealing with insurance issues. You can also search a directory of legal blogs at sites such as Justia: http://blawgsearch.justia.com/blogs