Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Commonwealth Law School Faculty and Adjunct Guide

This guide is specific to resources available on the Harrisburg campus.

Faculty Publications

Susan Giusti maintains a compilation of the published writings of the Widener University School of Law full time faculty.  They are organized by books, chapters, articles, and other.  

If you have any questions, please contact Susan Giusti.

Other Items

Do you have a blog, webpage, or other site specific to your curriculum or personal interests?  Please let us know so we can include it on your profile page for the website.

Tips

You can share the same articles, book chapters, texts, etc., on BePress, SSRN, Faculty Publications booklet, Scholastica, ExpressO, and any other outlet you choose. 

If you have any questions, please contact Susan Giusti.

Scholastica

Below are some resources that can help you navigate Scholastica and the submissions process.

ExpressO

Founded to provide authors with a convenient, fast, and efficient submission service, ExpressO continues to offer unmatched selection, affordability, and support. The website features helpful resources for authors, including a quick reference guide, video tutorials, FAQs, an institutional client list, and a list of reviews on hold:

Expresso!

When ready to submit, simply click on the Start Your Submission link and get started with our easy 3-step process: Select, Upload, and Submit.

  1. Select Law Reviews 
    Search law reviews by title, subject category, ExpressO Top 100 (the most popular law reviews on our service), or simply browse through our alphabetized list. We recommending using the Refine feature to search by category. Selecting law reviews who specialize in the topics covered in your manuscript helps to increase your chances of publication. 
  2. Upload Submission
    Enter your submission metadata, upload your article, and click Continue. We recommend providing a cover letter and CV, as well as abstract and any related keywords. Make your submission standout by providing editors with as much information about you and your article as possible.
  3. Review & Submit
    Review your submission information, including metadata and selected law review(s). Complete the submission process by agreeing to the terms of service and clicking Finish. Manage your deliveries with any of our post-submission tools including Make More Deliveries, Expedite, Email, and Withdraw. ExpressO also features an integrated offer system to allow you to easily track and accept offers through your account.

Publishing Information

Conducting a Preemptive Search

To make sure that an article you are writing is covering new ground and is not on a topic that has already been addressed, you can search in the Current Index to Legal Periodicals (CILP), Lexis Advance, LegalTrac, and WestlawNext.  Remember, you can track a topic or set an alert to get a customized email from CILP, Lexis Advance or WestlawNext.

Finding Publisher and Submission Information

Directories: 

  • The Jurist website maintains a list of law reviews published by ABA accredited law schools
  • The Online Directory of Law Reviews and Scholarly Legal Periodicals containing the following categories: General Student-Edited Law Reviews; Special Focus Student-Edited Law Journals; Non-Student Edited Peer Review and Trade Journals; and University Presses.  This comprehensive listing of United States law journals includes address, phone and fax numbers, email and number of publications per year.  It contains a general essay on law review submission requirements.
  • Svengalis, Kendall F. Legal Information Buyer's Guide to Reference Manual.  Intended as a reference source for the acquisition of legal materials, this book can also aid as a publishing source.  Appendix A provides a detailed listing of leading legal publishers with their history and product lines.  KF1.L43

Law Review Rankings

Where is it Indexed?

  • Titles indexed in CILP: This list identifies law reviews and other legal periodicals that are currently indexed in the Current Index to Legal Periodicals (CILP). 
  • Titles indexed in LegalTrac: Available 24 hours a day via the internet, LegalTrac on InfoTrac offers indexing for all major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty law publications, bar association journals and thousands of law-related articles from general interest publications.  LegalTrac also includes selective full text.

Submission Information

  • ExpressO: A law review submission service that allows you to submit one article to multiple law reviews at the same time.
  • Law Review Electronic Submission: Maintained by the Chase College of Law at Northern Kentucky University provides a listing of law reviews accepting online submissions.

BePress - Selected Works

All faculty members can have a page on the BePress Selected Works site. 

With Selected Works you can add or revise papers; upload a bio, picture, and CV; and upload multimedia.  You can announce and distribute your articles, working papers, presentations, and talks to your personal network of readers and colleagues, or build a network of people who follow your work; use RSS feeds; create readership reports and custom categories; and it is optimized for Google and Google Scholar to attract new readers.

If you have any questions, please contact Susan Giusti.

SSRN

Susan Giusti coordinates the uploading of your papers to SSRN.  This will ensure that your paper will be included in the Widener Law School Legal Studies Research Paper Series.  It will have a proper cover sheet and series number attached to it.

Please include the final pdf version, if possible.  We can convert it to pdf if necessary.

Please include citation if published.

Please include abstract, keywords, and JEL codes.  If you need a list of JEL codes, please contact Susan.

If you have a co-author, please include all contact information for them.

It is best that you do not post papers through your own account.  Although they will be accepted by SSRN, they will then be forwarded to Susan for a cover sheet and a series number.  At this point, she will have to contact you for permission to access your account and the posting, and then re-post the paper after updating it.

If you have any questions, please contact Susan Giusti.

The Legal Scholarship Network, part of SSRN, publishes electronic journals consisting of working and accepted papers, author contact information and conference announcements.  Widener subscribes to the Legal Scholarship Network.  You do not need an account to search SSRN, but an account will allow you to sign up for email alerts of new papers.

Alternative Publishing Opportunities

University Law Review Project is a free site where you can sign up to receive abstracts of new law reiew articles by email or submit an abstract for distribution.  This site is a partnership among Stanford, Australasian Legal Information Institute, Jurist, the Legal Information Institute, and Findlaw.

Online supplements - an increasing number of law journals are publishing supplemental material online.  Some of these journals accept shorter, original pieces of scholarship while others only publish responses to articles published in their print editions.  See the article by Colin Miller, Submission Guide for Online Law Review Supplements, Version 7.0 (7/22/2013).

Blogs - consider starting your own law blog or joining another blog.  The Law Professor Blogs Network has a list of law professor blogs.

 

Other Information

The library is now a "registrar" for Perma.cc http://perma.cc/  This is a new service run by the Harvard Law Library, Harvard Law Review Perma.cc to archive online sources in law reviews and court opinions.  It is basically a combination URL shortener and archiver.

With a Perma.cc account, you can create links to archived versions of web pages cited in your work. All you have to do is specify the URL of the page you want to preserve. Perma.cc will store the page and give you a unique Perma Link that you can use to direct readers to the preserved page.

Links become permanent when they are “vested” by someone affiliated with a vesting organization, such as a journal or court. Perma.cc limits vesting privileges to help prevent abuse and to focus on solving the problem of link rot in academic and legal writing.

Perma.cc provides multiple archive formats for each archived page and gives account holders a dashboard to organize all the links they’ve created. Once links are vested, they become part of the permanent archive that ultimately will be maintained by a network of participating libraries.

Perma.cc, developed by the Harvard Library Innovation Lab, is a caching solution to be used by authors and journal editors in order to integrate the preservation of cited material with the act of citation. Upon direction from a paper author or editor, Perma will retrieve and save the contents of a webpage, and return a permanent link. When the work is published, the author can include that permanent citation in addition to a citation to the original URL, or just the permanent link, ensuring that even if the original is no longer available because the site goes down or changes, the cache is preserved and available.