Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Social Work and Nursing: Harrisburg: Online Databases

Getting Started

To search the full text databases you start on the Library homepage. Scroll down to the A-Z List. Use this list to look up a  Journal Title. When you find the title you want, follow the links underneath its name to explore the title, including viewing full text.

If you are unable to find what you are looking for, use other full-text databases.

Finding Articles

Finding Articles 

To locate articles on legal topics, perform a search in one of the databases below.  Some databases provide full-text display of articles while others only provide citations to, or abstracts of, articles.  The following databases are listed on the library's webpage under the Research Tools feature or by going directly to: 

http://law.widener.edu/LawLibrary/Research/Databases.aspx

These databases may be accessed off-campus. You will need the number printed above the barcode on the back of your Widener ID. 

EbscoHost
Scholarly, business, health and other journals. Also includes newspapers and general magazines.  Important for nursing majors because it contains the CINAHL® with Full Text  database with full text nursing and allied health journals.

FirstSearch
Includes ArticleFirstand ECO, indexes to general, non-legal periodicals. Indexes only, no full-text.

Fulltext Sources Online
An index that helps you locate online journals. See Reference Librarian for password.

HeinOnline
 
Full-text legal journals in PDF format.

Index to Legal Periodicals and Books
Index to law reviews, journals and books. Some full text available.

JSTOR
JSTOR is an online collection of journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences.

Law Library Microform Consortium
Older federal executive, judicial and legislative documents available online.
Click "Choose" under Search to begin searching.

LegalTrac
Index to legal journals and newspapers, includes selected full-text articles.
LegalTrac replaces Legal Resource Index.

Loislaw
Case law, statutes, court rules and treatises. 

ProQuest
General magazines and periodicals online. Including historical New York Times and Wall Street Journal.

Publications and information from the United States Congress. Includes bills, laws, reports, Congressional Record, legislative histories and news.
 
For a full list of every online journal, periodical, newspaper or other database available through the Widener libraries use our A to Z Electronic Title List.