Study Aid Resources

A Study Aid is a secondary source that covers a specific type of law. They give explanations, analysis, and overviews of topics, making them particularly useful for students.

All Widener Law Commonwealth students, faculty and staff will have unlimited online access to 500+ West Academic Study Aids Subscription. 

Study Aid Series in the online collection include:

• Acing
• Black Letter Outlines
• Concepts and Insights
• Concise Hornbook Series
• Exam Pro (now with interactive quizzing)
• Gilbert Law Summaries
• Nutshells
• Sum & Substance Audio
• and more...

Accessing the Online Collection

1. Go to the West Academic Study Aids Subscription website.
2. Create an account using your Widener email address. 
3. After your account is created, you can sign in to your account anytime, anywhere.

Offline Reading / Listening

Study anywhere and on any device when you download the VitalSource Bookshelf app for reading and the West Academic Audio app for listening.

How to use the apps for offline studying.

Finding and Navigating the West Academic Study Aids

Watch the West Academic Study Aids Collection- 2021 on YouTube for an overview.

Need more help?  Watch the West Academic Study Aids Collection Student Guide on YouTube.

Note: New students - please be advised that your access will be available a few weeks after the semester starts.

All Widener Law Commonwealth students and faculty will have unlimited and simultaneous online access to 160+ LexisNexis Digital Library Study Aids Subscription. 

Study Aid Series in the online collection include:

• Understanding
• Questions and Answers
• Skills and Values
• Mastering
• and more…

Accessing the Online Collection

1. Go to your LexisNexis Digital Library page
2. Sign in with your school’s credentials:
   1. User ID = Widener email address
   2. Password/PIN = Widener ID number 

If you encounter this screen

1. Widener email address
2. ID number = University ID Number (typically the last part of your barcode on your ID)

If you encounter this screen

Enter widenerlawcw as the library code

Offline Reading

• The LexisNexis Digital Library app will be available in the GooglePlay™ store and Apple® App Store.
• Users should enter the following Library Code as they complete their app profile: widenerlawcw

If you have previously used the OverDrive app you will be prompted to switch to the Libby app, due to the eventual retirement of the OverDrive app.

Note: New students - please be advised that your access will be available a few weeks after the semester starts.

Formerly known as Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aid Library.

All Widener Law Commonwealth students and faculty will have unlimited and simultaneous online access to 180+ Aspen Learning Library Subscription.

Study Aid Series in the online collection include:

• Examples & Explanations
• Emanuel Law Outlines
• Glannon Guides
• Casenote Legal Briefs
• Inside Series
• Friedman’s Practice Series
• Emanuel CrunchTime
• And many more!

Accessing the Online Collection

1. Go to library card login page (make sure to use the library card login)
2. Choose your institution from the drop-down list
3. If the examples below do not work, please contact Susan Giusti smgiusti@widener.edu

• Some students can use the first part of your Widener email, followed by a 1, and enter as your library card number: example - jmdoe1
• Students that started 8/23 will need to remove existing numerals at the end of the first part of your Widener email. Capitalize your first and last name initial(s), and add 23 at the end: example - jbmcdoe12 changes to JMcDoe23
• Students that started 8/24 will need to remove existing numerals at the end of the first part of your Widener email. Capitalize your first and last name initial(s), and add 24 at the end: example - jbdoe12 changes to JDoe24

You can personalize your experience by creating a “sub-login.” Once you are logged in to your institution, click "To Personalize Login or Create Account" to create a sub-login

Click "Sign Up"

Fill out the form to create a sub-login

In order to highlight and take notes, etc., you must create a sub-login account​​​​​​

Users Guides 

Web Browser User Guide

iPhone/iPad User Guide

Android Phone/Tablet User Guide

Mac User Guide

Windows User Guide

Issues with Safari Browser

Apps

Apple iTunes Store

Google Play Store

Windows Direct Download

Apple Mac Store

Widener Law Commonwealth's library houses study aids in the Library Lobby.  Study Aids in print may be checked out for three days and are renewable for an additional loan period unless there is a hold on the item.  Please keep in mind that the print versions might not be up to date.

Study Aid Series in the print collection include:

• Examples & Explanations
• Hornbooks
• Sum & Substance CDs
• Understanding 
• Bar exam preparation materials
• Books on Legal Writing
• Guides on preparing for and writing law school exams
• and more...