Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Bioethics and the Law

A research guide designed to be of assistance to students taking Prof. Susan Goldberg's seminar.

Finding Books on Bioethics and the Law in the Library

Materials in the Widener University Libraries are classed according to the Library of Congress classification schedule.  When performing a subject search in the online library catalog (http://libcat.widener.edu/), use the subject heading "bioethics" to find materials in the Widener libraries on Bioethics Law: 

You can also perform a keyword search using the word “bioethics.”  A keyword search is a broader search and you will likely receive more hits than if you performed a subject specific search.

Materials on bioethics law may also be included under the subject of "medical ethics."  Perform a subject search in the library online catalog using “Bioethics” or "Medical Ethics" as a subject heading to find additional materials.

Catalog Subject Headings

The following list suggests subject headings to use when searching a catalog or journal index:

  • Abortion
  • Artificial Insemination
  • Assisted Suicide
  • Bioethics
  • Cloning
  • Eugenics
  • Euthanasia
  • Fertility
  • Fertilization in Vitro
  • Fetus Research
  • Genetic Engineering --Moral and Ethical Aspects
  • Human Cloning
  • Human Experimentation
  • Human Reproductive Technology -- Moral and Ethical Aspects
  • Medical Ethics
  • Medical Genetics
  • Medical Laws and Legislation -- Moral and Ethical Aspects
  • Neurosciences -- Moral and Ethical Aspects
  • Organ Procurement
  • Reproductive Techniques, Assisted
  • Right to Die
  • Stem Cell Research -- Moral and Ethical Aspects
  • Terminal Care
  • Tissue Donors
  • Transplantation 

Finding Journal Articles available from Widener Law Commonwealth and Widener University

To locate journal articles, perform a search in one of the databases listed below.  The following databases are listed on the law library’s webpage under Library Resources, A-Z Databases.

Use the databases to search for articles on your topic.  Some databases provide full-text display of articles while others only provide citations to, or abstracts of, articles.  Some of the databases linked to in this Guide are subscription databases.  Access is available to these databases on the campus and also off campus.

Accessing Databases From Off Campus

Some of the databases linked to in this guide are subscription databases. Access is available to these databases on the Widener Law Commonwealth campus and off.

Lexis & Westlaw - all Widener Law Commonwealth students have an individual passwords to Lexis & Westlaw. If you have trouble with your password please contact Lexis or Westlaw.

Other databases -

For some databases you will encounter the screen below.  Here you can either use your Widener login ID and password OR your name and the 14 digit barcode from the back of your Widener ID Card to access databases from Off Campus.  

Note: Be sure to enter your name exactly as it appears on your ID (ie: include hyphens and/or middle initials).

Sometimes, with our OpenAthens system, you will be required to sign-in with your Widener email and password to authenticate your connection to Widener.