This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Database Searching" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Database Searching  

A research guide explaining the fundamentals of searching Widener's various subscription databases.
Last Updated: Aug 19, 2015 URL: http://libguides.law.widener.edu/databasesearch Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Database Searching

 

Law Library Databases

Select a tab above to get help on how to best conduct a search in one of the library's legal databases.

 

Database Descriptions

Some databases provide full-text display of articles while others only provide citations to, or abstracts of, articles.  A complete list of all databases available at Widener is found at:

http://law.widener.edu/LawLibrary/Research/Databases.aspx

* These databases may be accessed off-campus. You will need the number printed above the barcode on the back of your Widener ID. 

A to Z Electronic Journal List
A searchable list of every online journal, periodical, newspaper or other database available through the Widener libraries

EbscoHost
Scholarly, business, health and other journals. Also includes newspapers and general magazines.

FirstSearch
Includes ArticleFirstand ECO, indexes to general, non-legal periodicals. Indexes only, no full-text.

Fulltext Sources Online
An index that helps you locate online journals. See Reference Librarian for password.

HeinOnline
Full-text legal journals in PDF format. Usually covers each journal back to the first volume. Also includes: European Center for Minority Issues, Federal Register Library, Code of Federal Regulations, Legal Classics, Philip C. Jessup Library, Session Laws, Treaties and Agreements Library, U.S. Attorney General Opinions, U.S. Federal Legislative History Library, U.S. Presidential Library, U.S. Statutes at Large, U.S. Supreme Court Library.

Index to Legal Periodicals and Books
Index to law reviews, journals and books. Some full text available.

JSTOR
JSTOR is an online collection of journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences.

Law Library Microform Consortium
Older federal executive, judicial and legislative documents available online.
Click "Choose" under Search to begin searching.

LegalTrac
Index to legal journals and newspapers, includes selected full-text articles.

LexisNexis
Requires a username and password, which is supplied to Widener Law students and faculty.

Loislaw
Case law, statutes, court rules and treatises. 

ProQuest
General magazines and periodicals online. Including historical New York Times and Wall Street Journal.

Westlaw
Requires a username and password, which is supplied to Widener Law students and faculty.


WorldCat
Search for books, journals, videos, and other items available in libraries worldwide.

 

Chat with a librarian

 

Talk to a librarian

Contact a reference librarian at the Legal Information Center:

In-Person at the Reference Desk.

By phone in Wilmington: 302-477-2114

By phone in Harrisburg: 717-541-3933

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip