what it is:
ProQuest is an index to articles that have been published in periodicals, journals, and newspapers. Most of the coverage is general in nature and is NOT law-related, with an emphasis on business, nursing/health and newspapers. Full-text is available for some, but not all articles.
The highlight of ProQuest may be the retrospective full-text coverage of the New York Times and Wall Street Journal back to the early 1800's.
You can access ProQuest HERE or by using the search box below.
Off-campus access to ProQuest is limited to current Widener law students, faculty and staff who will be prompted for their name and the bar code number on the back of their Widener ID.
Use a bar code scanner or QR Code app on your smart phone or tablet device to navigate to a video tutorial on searching the ProQuest database.
When you log-in to ProQuest, the basic search page provides you a list of databases that can be searched by broad topics, including: arts, business, health & science, history, or news & newspapers. Some of the specific databases are:
ABI/INFORM Complete: Index of almost 5,000 business and economics journals which focus on business information and market analysis.
Hoover's Company Profiles: Proprietary editorial comment on businesses and executives, including information on company market position and their competitors.
ProQuest Research Library: Index of over 4,700 journals dealing with a wide range of academic subjects including the Arts, Humanities, Psychology, and Science.
ProQuest Health & Medical Complete: Index of over 1,900 clinical research journals and other health-related publications.
ProQuest Newsstand: Index of newspapers from across the country. Click on the title list to see what publications are available or to search a specific title.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Retrospective full-text coverage of the New York Times (back to 1851) and the Wall Street Journal (back to 1889). Note: Historical databases cannot be search in combination with the other databases.
Except for the ProQuest Historical Newspapers database, searches in ProQuest can be run across all, or multiple databases.
The default tab in ProQuest is the Basic Search where a key word search is automatically run across a variety of different databases.
The Advanced Search tab, a search screen that allows key word searching in multiple fields, such as author, title, or company name. After an initial search has been run, the results are divided by document type, such as scholarly journals, or magazines.
Hints on effective Basic & Advanced searching can be found HERE
Limits by date and full-text access are available within both the Basic and Advanced Search tabs.
Under the Topics Tab, ProQuest subjects can be identified either by key word or browsing. After an initial topic search is run, ProQuest suggests related topics to narrow the search results.
Under the Publications tab, a user can locate a specific title to browse by date, or run a search within. Hints on publication searching can be found HERE
With ProQuest, you can create an account through the My Research link and save your search results. Once records are saved, results can be shared with others or the citations exported to create a bibliography.