2015 PPLR PresentationProfessional Development Day Presentation 2014P.P.L.R. Class Presentation 2014
This is the "PA Court Rules/Forms" page of the "Pennsylvania Practice-Oriented Legal Research " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Pennsylvania Practice-Oriented Legal Research   Tags: p.p.l.r., pplr  

Research guide for Pennsylvania Practice-Oriented Legal Research. PPLR is a program offered by Widener-Harrisburg Legal Information Center that introduces basic research tools necessary for practice in Pennsylvania.
Last Updated: Aug 19, 2015 URL: http://libguides.law.widener.edu/pplr Print Guide RSS Updates

PA Court Rules/Forms Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

Court rules control the operation of the court and the business brought before the court.  There are two types of court rules:  operating rules of the court and  procedural rules.

Operating rules deal with how the court works and often include Internal Operating Procedures which apply to a specific court.

Procedural rules generally deal with the conduct of the litigants and the business before the court.  Procedural rules include the Rules of CIvil Procedure, Rules of Criminal Procedure, Rules of Appellate Procedure, Rules of Evidence, Supreme COurt orphan's Court Rules and Magisterial District Rules.

Proposed rules are published in the Pennsylvania Bulletin and in local legal newspapers for comment.  Once final approval is granted, the rules are published in the Pennsylvania Bulletin with an effective date of implementation and then codified to the Pennsylvania Code.

 

Class Presentation

 

PA Federal Courts

U.S. Bankruptcy Courts:

Eastern District
Includes links for opinions and forms.

Middle District
Includes links to local rules and forms.

Western District
Includes links for opinions and forms.

U.S. District Courts:

Eastern District
Includes links for opinions, forms, and pro se forms

Middle District
Includes links for opinions and forms.

Western District
Includes links for local rules and forms.

U.S. Court of Appeals:

Third Circuit
Includes links for local rules and forms.

 

Comprehensive Pennsylvania Practice Sets

There are five comprehensive sets of Pennsylvania practice materials that cover most legal topics in a concise practicioner-oriented format available in the Widener Law Library:

Goodrich Amram 2d : Procedural Rules Service with Forms.
This set is organized numerically by Pennsylvania Rule of Civil Procedure and contains sample forms connected with many of the rules. Online availability is through either LexisNexis or Westlaw.
KFP529.A43.A2

Pennsylvania Keystone: Lawyer's Desk Library of Practice
This set is organized by broad topic, with the index and popular case table in the front volume, with the scope of this primarily limited to civil practice. A limited number of forms are available.
KFP77.L37

Standard Pennsylvania Practice 2d.
This set is organized by broad legal topic and includes a limited number of sample forms. Online availability is through Westlaw.
KFP530.S85

Summary of Pennsylvania Jurisprudence 2d.
This set is organized by broad legal topic, each volume having an index. There are no forms in this set. Online availability is through Westlaw.
KFP81.L4

West's Pennsylvania Practice Series
This set includes 23 individual volumes focused on different areas of Pennsylvania practice. Each volume is authored by a practicioner focusing in that area, with most containing sample forms. Many volumes have a CD-ROM of downloadable forms. Online availability is through Westlaw.
KFP80.W47

 

PA Local Court Rules

Adams County Local Rules of Court

Cumberland County Local Rules of Court (PDF)

Dauphin County Local Rules of Court
Including Dauphin County Standard Interrogatories

Lebanon County Local Rules of Court

Perry County Local Rules of Court (doc)

 
Contact librarian for username and password.  Local rules found under the Rules & Regs tab.

 

PA Court Rule Books in the Library

Pennsylvania Rules of Court (West)
The library has copies of Local Rules-Western, Eastern and Middle District, and Federal.  The KeyRules edition contain analysis on how to apply the rules.
KFP529.A197

Pennsylvania Rules of Civil Procedure
KFP529.A2

Pennsylvania Rules of Evidence
KFP540.A45.P46

 

PA Legal Forms

Unified Judicial System of Pennsylvania
Commonly used civil and criminal forms

Dauphin County Forms
Dauphin County Prothonotary

Self-Help Forms
Dauphin County Law Library

Child & Spousal Support Forms
PA Department of Public Welfare

PaLawHELP.org
Legal information and forms for pro se litigants.

Other forms may be found at the county court websites listed to the left.

 

PA Form Books

There are three comprehensive Pennsylvania form book sets that cover a wide range of legal situations.

Dunlap-Hanna Pennsylvania Forms
This set contains a general index for a finding aid; available online through LexisNexis
KFP68.D85

The Pennsylvania Transaction Guide: Legal Forms
This set contains a general index for a finding aid; available online through LexisNexis.
KFP68.P45

West's Pennsylvania Forms
Each individually titled volume has its own index as a finding aid; available online through Westlaw.
KFP64.W48

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip