This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Government Documents & Government Information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Government Documents & Government Information  

Last Updated: Aug 22, 2014 URL: http://libguides.law.widener.edu/content.php?pid=173536 Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

FDLP

The Federal Depository Library Program


The Federal Depository Library Program was established by Congress to ensure that the American public has access to its Government’s information. GPO administers the FDLP on behalf of the participating libraries and the public. Information products from the Federal Government are disseminated to these nationwide libraries that, in turn, ensure the American public has free access to the materials, both in print and online.

This library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents.  Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law.  (Title 44 United States Code)

 

The Legal Information Centers on the Wilmington, Delaware, and Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, campuses participate in the Federal Depository Library Program.  Both of the Centers are selective depositories for United States government documents, Wilmington since 1976 and Harrisburg since 1989.

Core documents in the collection are the laws of the United States, Congressional publications, decisions of the Judiciary, and regulations issued by federal agencies. Because the study of law touches on all aspects of life, other agency publications are considered for inclusion in the collection as well.

The Legal Information Center integrates government documents into the main body of its collection.

Documents are cataloged according to the Library of Congress (LC) classification scheme and shelved in LC order with other materials that the library selects, and are searchable via the library's public access catalog.

Government documents that have not been converted to LC classification are shelved in designated government document areas of the Legal Information Centers, such as microform cabinets.

The Legal Information Center provides links to government documents that have been selected and that are also available on the Internet via its online catalog.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Finding Journal Articles

Finding Journal Articles

 To locate journal articles, perform a search in one of the databases listed below.  The following databases are listed on the library’s webpage under the Research Tools feature or by going directly to: http://law.widener.edu/LawLibrary/Research/Databases.aspx.

Use the databases to search for articles on your topic.  Some databases provide full-text display of articles while others only provide citations to, or abstracts of, articles.  Some of the databases linked to in this Guide are subscription databases.   Access is available to these databases on the Widener campus and off.

Lexis & Westlaw - all Widener students have an individual Lexis & Westlaw password. If you have trouble with your password please contact Lexis or Westlaw.

Other databases - When using other databases off campus you may be prompted for your name and library barcode number. The library barcode number is printed on the back of your student ID.

EbscoHost--Scholarly, business, health and other journals. Also includes newspapers and general magazines.

Index to Legal Periodicals and Books--Index to law reviews, journals and books. Some full text available.

JSTOR--JSTOR is an online collection of journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences.

LegalTrac--Index to legal journals and newspapers, includes selected full-text articles.

Lexis

ProQuest--General magazines and periodicals online. Including historical New York Times and Wall Street Journal.

WorldCat--Search for books, journals, videos, and other items available in libraries worldwide.

SSRN Social Science Research Network(Locate SSRN by searching in the library catalog where Title = SSRN)

SSRN's objective is to provide worldwide distribution of research to authors and their readers and to facilitate communication among them at the lowest possible cost.

Westlaw

 

InterLibrary Loan

Obtaining Books and Articles through InterLibrary Loan

If none of the Widener libraries own the book or article you need, you may request it through Interlibrary loanILLiad is the Interlibrary loan service used by Widener.  Please note that you must register for ILLiad before you can request materials through InterLibrary Loan.  To register, click on Iliad and then on your respective library.

If you are a registered user of ILLiad, simply enter your username and password to continue.

Once you have registered, fill in as much of the request form as possible. The more information you provide, the better.

Most photocopies will be delivered electronically. You will be notified via your Widener e-mail account with a link to your article which will be in .pdf format.

All interlibrary loan items, except copied articles, must be returned to the Information Desk by the due date.

Government Documents & Government Information

Profile Image
Ed Sonnenberg
Contact Info
Send Email

Federal Depository Library Program

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip