Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Synopsis Note
Beginning in the mid-1970s, synopsis notes have been attached to all Delaware bills and amendments to bills. The synopsis note gives a brief statement of the purpose of the bill. (The General Assembly seems to have started adding synopsis notes to bills gradually, so there is not one definite year when they began using them.) The synopsis note will only be found on the bill, not in the Laws of Delaware or Delaware Code.
Delaware General Assembly
All bills after 1997 can be found on the General Assembly's website in the Bills & Resolutions section. The synopsis note is listed as "original synopsis" on the detail page for each bill. It is also at the end of the text of the bill.
Lexis DE Full Text Bills
Lexis includes the synopsis note for Delaware bills in the "Digest" section before the text of each bill. (The "Synopsis" section is not the synopsis note.)
Delaware Historical Proposed Legislation
The Westlaw Delaware historic legislation database has bills back to 2005. The synopsis note is at the end of the bill.
The Delaware Law School Library has Delaware bills back to 1975 in paper ( KFD6 .A2) and 1961 in microfilm. Remember that synopsis notes have only been used since the mid-1970s, so it's no use looking for one for a bill before then.
The Delaware Code
Delaware's codified laws are published in the Delaware Code Annotated. The Delaware Code includes a history section at the end of each code section, which traces every time that section was updated.
A free version of the Delaware Code from the State of Delaware. Although it is not annotated it does include history notes at the end of each code section.
Delaware Code Annotated
The Lexis version of the Delaware code includes annotations and includes a history section at the end of each code section.
The West version of the Delaware code includes annotations and includes a history section at the end of each code section
There are two paper versions of the Delaware code, one published by Lexis and one by West. The Delaware Law Library has the current Delaware Code Annotated at KFD30 1974 .A24. We also have older code volumes in our archives.
The Laws of Delaware
Passed acts are published in the Laws of Delaware. These are the session laws of the state of Delaware.
Laws of Delaware
The Delaware Public Archives has scanned the Laws of Delaware from vol. 1 to 72.
Law of Delaware
Provided by the State of Delaware, the session laws back to vol. 40. This version is text and a little easier to navigate than the version from the Public Archives.
HeinOnline's Session Law library has all volumes of the Delaware session laws.
The Delaware Law Library has a complete copy of the Laws of Delaware in our archives KFD25 .D4.
Delaware House and Senate Journals
Delaware House and Senate Journals - House and Senate Journals are published for each session of the General Assembly. The Journals give information on who sponsored each bill; the voting record and the date the Governor signed the bill. Additionally, the Journals contain the minutes of the proceedings of the General Assembly prior to 1967. The Journals do not contain record of debates, but they do contain addresses by the Governor to the General Assembly and mentions of outside speakers who gave addresses about proposed legislation (though not the text of these remarks.)
House Journals from 1835 to 1971. Scanned by the University of Delaware.
Current House Journal
The current House Journal is on the General Assembly's website.
Senate Journals from 1831 to 1975. Scanned by the University of Delaware.
Delaware Law School library has the House and Senate Journals in paper and microfilm. We are missing a few volumes in paper, particularly the special sessions.