Professional Responsibility Research Guide

Acing Professional Responsibility provides a dual benefit to law students who, to become licensed lawyers, have to pass both a law school exam in a Legal Ethics course as well as the Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination (MPRE). To prepare for the law school examination, there are pages of text, numerous outlines, bullet points, sample essay questions and answers, and mini-checklists to learn the basics and fine points of Professional Responsibility. In addition, this book discusses all recent ABA Formal Ethics Opinions. The Acing book also enables students to quickly recall and pass the MPRE. The materials are current through the most recent Model Rules amendments in 2018.

Optimize your ability to pass the Multistate Professional Responsibility Exam (MPRE)! Strategies & Tactics for the MPRE is filled with questions released from the National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE), as well as additional questions, based on NCBE content and style, for extra practice. Thorough explanations of the correct and incorrect answers provide you with the analyses you need to master the MPRE.  Strategies & Tactics for the MPRE features: Basic information about the MPRE and what to expect A recap of important terminology you will need to know Expert advice on how to avoid common mistakes and spot tricky questions 300 practice questions, over 150 of which are actual NCBE-released questions from past MPRE exams, all with answers In-depth, detailed answers to every question that explain not only why the correct answer is correct, but why the other choices are not Advice on how to benefit the most from the practice exam questions A detailed strategy for approaching the exam and logical rules to use to deconstruct each question

Study anytime, anywhere! Emanuel Law in a Flash comprehensive flash cards are ideal for reviewing legal topics point by point. Each card has a concise question on one side and an accurate answer on the reverse side. These cards are the only product of their kind. Emanuel Law in a Flash Card Features: Only product of its kind Test your knowledge of black letter law Apply the law to hypothetical examples Use individually or in group sessions Use them anywhere, anytime Great for exam prep This title is also available as a mobile app for the iPhone and iPod Touch. See details at www.AspenLaw.com/mobile.

This Understanding treatise analyzes the fundamental issues of lawyers' ethics and the ABA's Model Rules. It is designed to facilitate a real understanding of legal rules as distinguished from a superficial familiarity with them by challenging the reader to test their understanding of the legal rules against the reader's own moral standards and reasoned judgment. The sixth edition has substantial new material on cross-examination in sexual assault cases; prosecution in the context of race and policing; the rise of the "progressive prosecutor movement"; the renewed call for the U.S. Supreme Court to abide by the Code of Judicial Ethics; and the ethics of lawyers engaged in former president Donald Trump's scheme to overturn the 2020 presidential election.

This second edition of Mastering Professional Responsibility presents a concise explanation of the rules and concepts of lawyer professional responsibility. In creating the book, the author's goal is to provide students in the typical law school professional responsibility course with a source that explains the relevant rules and concepts in a way understandable to novices to the legal profession. In furtherance of that goal, the book provides a straightforward treatment of the subject, with special attention to the Model Rules of Professional Conduct and all recent amendments to those rules through the date of publication. For each topic, the book briefly addresses any relevant rationales, but primarily focuses on explaining the parameters of the applicable standards in a clear, understandable, step-by-step manner. A typical treatment of a topic includes not only a clear explanation of each standard, often broken into manageable concepts, but also a simple example illustrating the application of that standard. These easy-to-understand examples are designed to facilitate learning in students who, in contrast to practicing lawyers, have not yet had the opportunity to develop an understanding of the context of law practice. This book is an excellent accompaniment to the typical professional responsibility course. The book is also a good preparatory tool for the Multistate Professional Responsibility Exam, which is a requirement for admission for most states.

This book is a comprehensive tool for students to test their understanding of the Model Rules of Professional Conduct, the Model Code of Judicial Conduct, and other doctrines of the Law of Lawyering such as malpractice, breach of fiduciary duty, and disqualification. Its 208 questions are organized to track the topics and the emphasis of the Multistate Professional Responsibility Exam (MPRE) and thus can be used productively for bar exam preparation as well as for review of material covered in a student's required professional responsibility course. The book provides detailed explanations why the right answers are correct and why the wrong answers are wrong, including citations to the rules or other authorities that the students should rely upon.

Many law professors aim to probe deep ethical issues in class. But they also need to cover the material that the Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination requires. The Rotunda Nutshell fulfils that need as it digests the Model Rules in an engaging, analytical, and often critical way. In a surprisingly pithy manner, this book places the Rules in an historic context that lets the student understand problems with prior versions of the Rules, which led to the present version. The Nutshell also analyzes the American Law Institute's Restatement of the Law Governing Lawyers, Third. This approach frees up precious class time for important normative issues. And, this Nutshell helps your students come up with better answers to your Socratic questions than you anticipated. This book has proved so popular as an explanation of the basic principles of legal ethics that it has been translated into Japanese and used there to teach American legal ethics.

Pocket Guide to Legal Ethics is a concise, comprehensive guide to the rules of ethics for paralegal students and working paralegals. Focusing on the key rules of ethics, the text reviews the rules of ethics that attorneys are subject to and how those rules may apply to paralegals. In addition, Pocket Guide to Legal Ethics includes useful information tailored specifically for paralegals, including tips for ethical behavior, real-world advice and ethical guidance provided by various paralegal associations. Topical areas address in this resource include providing competent diligent representation of the client; maintaining integrity and public respect for the legal profession; avoiding the unauthorized practice of law; confidentiality; conflicts of interest; fees and financial matters; advertising and solicitation. The easy-to-use format, including checklists, charts, tables, and FAQs in each chapter make Pocket Guide to Legal Ethics a quick reference book that students will want to take from the classroom to the workplace.

As the legal profession undergoes structural changes, longstanding principles of ethics still govern the day-to-day lives of practicing lawyers. This new Hornbook on professional responsibility provides both a snapshot of ongoing systemic changes and a thorough examination of the fundamentals of lawyer and judicial ethics. As a multi-dimensional work by scholarly experts in several fields, the Hornbook (1) begins with the changing environment in which legal services are provided in the modern economy; (2) continues with a theoretical grounding of legal ethics in moral philosophy; (3) offers empirical evidence and discussion about professional formation and moral development; (4) provides a comprehensive analysis of the law of lawyer ethics; (5) includes a rich discussion of the modern law of legal malpractice, and (6) concludes with exploration of the rules of judicial ethics.

Law school classroom lectures can leave you with a lot of questions. Glannon Guides can help you better understand your classroom lecture with straightforward explanations of tough concepts with hypos that help you understand their application. The Glannon Guide is your proven partner throughout the semester when you need a supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. Here's why you need to use Glannon Guides to help you better understand what is being taught in the classroom: It mirrors the classroom experience by teaching through explanation, interspersed with hypotheticals to illustrate application. Both correct and incorrect answers are explained; you learn why a solution does or does not work.  Glannon Guides provide straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes material stick.

The Seventh Edition of Examples & Explanations for Professional Responsibility is a thorough and comprehensive text that can be used by students as a study aid and by professional responsibility teachers as a class text. It covers the whole field of professional responsibility, focusing not only on the ABA Model Rules, but on the often-complex relationship between the rules and doctrines of agency, tort, contract, evidence, and constitutional law. Beginning with the formation of the attorney-client relationship, the book proceeds through topics including attorney's fees, malpractice and ineffective assistance of counsel, confidentiality and privilege rules, conflicts of interest, witness perjury and litigation misconduct, advertising and solicitation, admission to practice, and the organization of the legal profession. Coverage includes all subjects that are tested on the Multistate Professional Responsibility Exam (MPRE), including judicial ethics, a subject tested on the MPRE and not often covered thoroughly, if at all, in law school professional responsibility courses; the ABA's simplification of the rules on advertising and solicitation; Model Rule 8.4(g) on discrimination in the practice of law; the California Supreme Court's Sheppard Mullin opinion on advance waivers of conflicts, and continuing developments in the impact of technology on the practice of law. New to the Seventh Edition: Expanded coverage of developments in the law having to do with lawyering, including ABA rules, ethics opinions, and cases New and revised examples and explanations in many chapters Top-to-bottom comprehensive revision and updates of all areas of professional responsibility, with attention to areas that are particularly challenging for students (as well as many practicing lawyers!), such as conflicts of interest and privilege and confidentiality  Professors and students will benefit from: A study aid that, without "teaching to the test," provides students with thorough preparation for the MPRE, which is the first licensing exam that many law students take MPRE-style multiple-choice questions in the Examples The depth and sophistication of the coverage 

This text is designed to help a law student recognize and understand the basic principles and issues of law covered in a law school course on professional responsibility. It can be used both as a study aid when preparing for classes and as a review of the subject matter when studying for an examination. The law is succinctly stated, and exceptions to the rules are stated in the text. Rules and exceptions have purposely been condensed to facilitate quick and easy recollection. For an in-depth study of a point of law, citations to major student texts are given.

More than a discussion of professional regulation, this treatise addresses issues that every lawyer faces, such as conflict of interest, the client-lawyer relationship and confidentiality. In addition, specialized concerns are examined, including the role and responsibilities of lawyers as house counsel, government attorneys, mediators, prosecutors, and participants in the political process. This comprehensive survey also covers lawyer advertising, pro bono work, lawyer competence and other topics of modern practice. An entire chapter of this valuable reference is devoted to judges and the Judicial Code. Westlaw® queries are included.