Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Professional Responsibility Research Guide: Secondary Sources

Finding Journal Articles

Finding Journal Articles

 To locate articles on the topic of Professional Responsibility perform a search in one of the databases listed below.  The following databases are listed on the library’s webpage under  Research or by going directly to: https://delawarelaw.widener.edu/current-students/library/research/

Use the databases to search for articles on your topic.  Some databases provide full-text display of articles while others only provide citations to, or abstracts of, articles:

CILP (Current Index to Legal Periodicals) - Weekly index of newly published law review articles, look for the heading "Legal Profession"

JSTOR--JSTOR is an online collection of journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences.

LegalTrac--Index to legal journals and newspapers, includes selected full-text articles. Available on WestlawEdge

WorldCat--Search for books, journals, videos, and other items available in libraries worldwide.

SSRN Social Science Research Network (Locate SSRN by searching in the library catalog where Title = SSRN)

SSRN's objective is to provide worldwide distribution of research to authors and their readers and to facilitate communication among them at the lowest possible cost.

Westlaw and Lexis both have journal databases that can be searched for articles on specific subjects.

Secondary Sources

 Treatises

Search in the online library catalog (http://libcat.widener.edu/) or browse the shelves for treatises on Professional Responsibility.   The call number range for Legal Ethics is KF 299- KF 318.  A few of the more familiar treatises on Professional Responsibility and their call number location in the library are:

ABA compendium of professional responsibility rules and standards. -KF305 .A2 2010

Annotated model rules of professional conduct.  -KF306 . A5 A52 2007

A century of legal ethics : trial lawyers and the ABA Canons of Professional Ethics  -KF305 .C46 2009

The Law of Lawyering: A Handbook on the Model Rules of Professional Conduct -KF306 .H33 2000

Legal Ethics: The Lawyer's Deskbook on Professional Responsibility - Available on Westlaw

Red Flags: A Lawyer's Handbook on Legal Ethics -KF306 .F692 2010

Restatement of the Law Third : The Governing Lawyers -KF395 .A2 L39 2000 (also available full-text online in HeinOnline's American Law Institute Library.)

Series and Journals

National reporter on legal ethics and professional responsibility -KF308.A6 N38

American Law Reports (ALR) -US Section Consult the index to American Law Reports Federal (ALR Fed) to find relevant annotations.  ALR is also available through Lexis and Westlaw.

The Georgetown Journal of Legal Ethics - K7 .E539   (Also available full-text in HeinOnline's Law Journal Library.)

Journal of the Legal Profession -K10 . O958 (Also available full-text in HeinOnline's Law Journal Library.)

Other Law Review,  Journals and Legal Periodicals- See the "Finding Journal Articles" box to the left for an expanded list of journal sources.

Legal Trac--Index to legal journals and newspapers, includes selected full-text articles.

Law reviews and legal periodicals and texts are also available on Lexis and Westlaw.  Check the respective database directories for title availability and scope of coverage.