Copyright & Fair Use

• OASIS

  Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 80 different sources and contains 331,461 records.
• Project Gutenberg

  Project Gutenberg offers over 58,000 free eBooks.
• Free images from the Met 

  • 

  Renowned for its comprehensive collection of work that captures “5,000 years of art spanning all cultures and time periods,” New York City’s world famous Metropolitan Museum of Art has recently announced that 375,000 of its pieces in the public domain are now available without restrictions.
• 21 Free Resources for Teaching Social Justice in the Classroom

  Resources for teaching about inclusion, diversity, and equity.
• Hundreds of Ancient Maps

  Thanks to The University of Chicago Press, anyone can now explore a fascinating library of early maps. Titled The History of Cartography, the extensive six-volume, multi-author archive includes maps from prehistoric times up to the twentieth century. Each book in the series costs $200; however, the team recently made the first three volumes available online, to download as PDFs for free.
• Library of Congress/LOC Free to use Digital Collections
• Open Access Art Images from the NGA/National Gallery of Art

  National Gallery of Art
  Open Access Policy for Images of Works of Art Presumed in the Public Domain.
  With the launch of NGA Images, the National Gallery of Art implements an open access policy for digital images of works of art that the Gallery believes to be in the public domain. Images of these works are now available free of charge for any use, commercial or non-commercial. Users do not need to contact the Gallery for authorization to use these images. They are available for download at the NGA Images website (images.nga.gov). See Policy Details below for specific instructions and notes for users.'
• Hathi Trust

  a growing, global partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. The mission of HathiTrust is to contribute to research, scholarship, and the common good by collaboratively collecting, organizing, preserving, communicating, and sharing the record of human knowledge. There are more than 140 members in HathiTrust, and membership is open to institutions worldwide

  more...
• YouTube

  Video-sharing website
• TED Talks

  TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks
• LOC Veterans History Project

  The Veterans History Project of the American Folklife Center collects, preserves, and makes accessible the personal accounts of American war veterans so that future generations may hear directly from veterans and better understand the realities of war.
• Library of Congress Persian manuscripts
• Interactive Constitution

  National Constitution Center : In the Interactive Constitution, scholars from across the legal and philosophical spectrum interact with each other to explore the meaning of each provision of the Constitution.
• RStudio

  RStudio provides popular open source and enterprise-ready professional software for the R statistical computing environment.
• Tex's French Grammar - index: la grammaire de l'absurde

  Tex's French Grammar is the integral grammar component of Français Interactif, an online French course from the University of Texas at Austin. Français Interactif includes authentic, spoken French language via digital audio and video clips, a French grammar reference (Tex's French Grammar), self-correcting French grammar exercises, vocabulary and phonetics sections, Internet-based activities ...
• MIT Open Courseware 

  • 

  MIT OpenCourseWare is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.
• Flickr: The Commons

  The key goal of The Commons is to share hidden treasures from the world's public photography archives.
• Temple University Urban Archives

  Established in 1967, Temple University’s Urban Archives documents the social, economic, political, and physical development of the greater Philadelphia region throughout the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries.
• Widener University Digital Archives

  Widener University Digital Collections provides access to many exhibits of photographs, yearbooks, school newspapers, and various other unique materials related to the history of Widener University and its predecessor institutions.
• Public Domain Song Anthology: Popular Music for Study and Performance with modern and traditional hamonizations by David Berger and Chuck Israels.

  From the Music Library Association - The Public Domain Song Anthology is a songbook of 370 popular tunes that includes early popular music, jazz, and traditional tunes that have become part of the jazz standard repertory.
• LOC WW I Posters

  From the Library of Congress - During World War I, the impact of the poster as a means of communication was greater than at any other time during history. The ability of posters to inspire, inform, and persuade combined with vibrant design trends to produce thousands of interesting visual works. Explore this selection and view more WWI posters. Browse more content that is free to use and reuse.
• LOC Children's Book Selections

  This special collection presents children’s books selected from the General and Rare Book Collections at the Library of Congress. The collection includes classic works that are still read by children today, and lesser-known treasures drawn from the Library’s extensive collection of historically significant children’s books. The books in this collection were published in the United States and England before 1924, are no longer under copyright, and free to read, share, and reuse however you’d like.
  Highlights of the collection include examples of the work of American illustrators such as W.W. Denslow, Peter Newell, and Howard Pyle, as well as works by renowned English illustrators Randolph Caldecott, Walter Crane, and Kate Greenaway.
• Larry Sabato's Crystal Ball

  Sabato’s Crystal Ball is a comprehensive, nonpartisan political analysis and handicapping newsletter run by the University of Virginia Center for Politics. Founded in advance of the 2002 elections, the Crystal Ball is produced by Editor in Chief Larry J. Sabato, also the Center for Politics’ director, along with Managing Editor Kyle Kondik.
  The Crystal Ball keeps tabs on presidential elections, along with every race for the U.S. Senate, House of Representatives, and state governor. Along with forecasting the winners, the Crystal Ball provides analysis of trends in American politics and elections, and it features outside contributors such as Senior Columnists Alan Abramowitz of Emory University and Rhodes Cook, a longtime congressional reporter and analyst.
• R The R Project for Statistical Computing

  R is a free software environment for statistical computing and graphics.
• Holocaust records 

  • 

  For years, the Arolsen Archives has collected and housed more than 30 million documents on the people who fell victim to Nazi persecution during WWII—and they are now available to the public for free.
  
  The Arolsen Archives, which is the world’s largest archive on Holocaust victims, recently partnered with Ancestry.com in order to digitize and publish all of their records on the internet.
  
  The documents include everything from passenger lists of displaced persons; registers of people living in Germany who were persecuted by public institutions and corporations; and even burial information for the deceased.
• Biodiversity Heritage Library 

  • 

  Offers more than 55 million pages of literature, some of which date back to the 15th century. Some 158,000 illustrations are available for free download in high-resolution files.

ArtSTOR Public Collections 

• Creative Commons - About

  CC Search is a tool that allows openly licensed and public domain works to be discovered and used by everyone. Creative Commons, the nonprofit behind CC Search, is the maker of the CC licenses, used over 1.4 billion times to help creators share knowledge and creativity online.
• Creative Commons Image Search

  Search for free content in the public domain and under Creative Commons licenses
• Creative Commons Licenses
• Copyright Basics

• Open Textbook Library

  Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.
• Open Stax

  OpenStax is a nonprofit educational initiative based at Rice University, We publish high-quality, peer-reviewed, openly licensed college textbooks that are absolutely free online and low cost in print.
• OER Commons

  Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching and learning materials that you may freely use and reuse at no cost, and without needing to ask permission. Includes textbooks and other course materials.
• OASIS

  Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 84 different sources and contains 329,797 records. OASIS is being developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library.
• MIT Online Textbooks

  MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.
• Open SUNY Textbooks

  Open SUNY Textbooks is a one service of SUNY OER Services, a SUNY service that provides mentoring, technical support, and access to a broad catalog of open textbooks to help incorporate OER into the classroom, lower the cost of higher education, and empower faculty.
• HATHI Trust Digital Library

  HathiTrust began in 2008 as a collaboration of the universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation (now the Big Ten Academic Alliance) and the University of California system to establish a repository to archive and share their digitized collections
• DOAB- Directory of Open Access Books

  The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide metadata of their Open Access books to DOAB.
• Project Gutenberg

  Project Gutenberg offers over 59,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired. Thousands of volunteers digitized and diligently proofread the eBooks, for enjoyment and education.
• Smithsonian Libraries

  Most books available here are in the Public Domain unless otherwise noted, and are therefore free to download, use, re-use, and re-mix without regard to copyright.
• La Bibliothèque des Amériques

  Créée en 2014, la Bibliothèque des Amériques est une initiative du Centre de la francophonie des Amériques. Elle est accessible à ses membres gratuitement qu’ils soient, par exemple, du Brésil, de la Colombie, d’Haïti, des États-Unis, du Canada, etc.
  Gratuite, unique et 100 % Franco-Amérique!
  La Bibliothèque des Amériques donne accès gratuitement à des milliers de livres numériques d’auteurs francophones des Amériques. Son offre unique est diversifiée et aussi spécialisée. Elle se distingue, car elle rassemble, conserve et diffuse le patrimoine documentaire francophone ou relatif aux communautés francophones des Amériques.
• arXiv.org 

  • 

  From Cornell University: arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 1,690,252 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv.

• DOAJ Directory of Open Access Journals

  DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent. All funding is via donations, 40% of which comes from sponsors and 60% from members and publisher members. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available.

  more...
• DOAJ Tutorial
• Elsevier Open Access JOurnals

  All articles in open access journals which are published by Elsevier have undergone peer review and upon acceptance are immediately and permanently free for everyone to read and download.
• Oxford University Press (OUP) Open Access Journals
• PLOS Public Library of Science Open Access Journals

  215,000+ peer-reviewed articles are free to access, reuse and redistribute.
• In the Library with the Lead Pipe

  In the Library with the Lead Pipe is an open access, open peer reviewed journal founded and run by an international team of librarians working in various types of libraries. In addition to publishing articles and editorials by Editorial Board members, Lead Pipe publishes articles by authors representing diverse perspectives including educators, administrators, library support staff, technologists, and community members.

The library has many resources that can be used in your courses. These are not open education resources but are part of our library subscriptions.

Databases with full text articles. Each article has a permalink.  Share the permalink with your students.

Ebook collections   We have several ebook collections with hundreds of thousands of books via Wolfgram library.

Streaming Video services:  AVON/Academic Video Online and Psychotherapy.net available via Wolfgram library.  Both AVON and Psychotherapy.net are captioned.

Predatory Open Access Journals exist for the sole purpose of profit, not the dissemination of high-quality research findings and furtherance of knowledge. These predators generate profits by charging author fees, also known as article processing charges (APCs), that far exceed the cost of running their low-quality, fly-by-night operations.

Charging a fee is not itself a marker of a predatory publisher: many reputable OA journals use APCs to cover costs, especially in fields where research is often funded by grants. (Many subscription-based journals also charge authors fees, sometimes per page or illustration.) However, predatory journals are primarily fee-collecting operations—they exist for that purpose and only incidentally publish articles, generally without rigorous peer review, despite claims to the contrary."

DOAJ is considered an Open Access Journal whitelist, listing journals it has vetted and found to be of good quality.

Beall's List lists OA journals it deems "Potential, possible, or probable predatory scholarly open-access publishers.

From ACRL/ Academic and College Research Libraries: Beyond Beall’s List: Better understanding predatory publishers