Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Commonwealth Law School Faculty and Adjunct Guide: Databases

This guide is specific to resources available on the Harrisburg campus.

List of Databases

These databases may be accessed off-campus, just like in your office.  Login requires the number printed above the barcode on the back of your Widener ID. They can also be found on our website here.

Full Text Finder
Search the Full Text Finder list to find titles of online journals, newspapers, books, and databases available through the Widener libraries.
 

Bloomberg Law
If you have not received an activation code for Bloomberg, please contact
Ed Sonnenberg.

BNA databases
Online versions of BNA publications. Includes current awareness services and in-depth research libraries covering a broad range of legal subjects.

CALI Lessons
See Reference Librarian for authorization code.

Checkpoint
Online tax research. The first time you use Checkpoint, you must go to ria.thomson.com/cploginids from any computer on the Widener network and register for a password. Once you have a password, you can use Checkpoint from anywhere by using this URL: riacheckpoint.com.

Current Index to Legal Periodicals (CILP)
Weekly index of recently published law review articles.

EbscoHost
Scholarly, business, health and other journals. Also includes newspapers and general magazines.


Environmental Law Reporter
Federal and state environmental material, including cases, statutes, and regulations. See Reference Librarian for password.

Fastcase
Case law, statutes, court rules and treatises.


FirstSearch
Includes ArticleFirstand ECO, indexes to general, non-legal periodicals. Indexes only, no full-text.

HeinOnline
Full-text legal journals in PDF format. Usually covers each journal back to the first volume.
Also includes: European Center for Minority Issues, Federal Register Library, Code of Federal Regulations, Legal Classics, Philip C. Jessup Library, Session Laws, Treaties and Agreements Library, U.S. Attorney General Opinions, U.S. Federal Legislative History Library, U.S. Presidential Library, U.S. Statutes at Large, U.S. Supreme Court Library.

Index to Legal Periodicals and Books
Index to law reviews, journals and books. Some full text available.


Index to Legal Periodicals and Books Retrospective 1908-1981

JSTOR

JSTOR is an online collection of journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences.

Law Journal Press
Authoritative information on the latest issues from a variety of legal topics, with  analysis and practitioner-oriented guidance.


Law Library Microform Consortium
Older federal executive, judicial and legislative documents available online.
Click "Choose" under Search to begin searching.

LegalTrac
Index to legal journals and newspapers, includes selected full-text articles.

LegalTrac replaces Legal Resource Index.

LexisNexis
Requires a username and password, which is supplied to Widener Law students and faculty.

LexisNexis Academic
Access to LexisNexis for undergraduate and other non-law students.

 

National Consumer Law Center (NCLC)

Containing over 20 NCLC consumer law treatises often referred to as the "bibles of consumer law," both by consumer attorneys and those representing creditors and merchants.  See reference librarian for password.

 

Pennsylvania State Supreme Court Records and Briefs Index

 

ProQuest Congressional
Publications and information from the United States Congress. Includes bills, laws, reports, Congressional Record, legislative histories and news.


United Nations Treaty Collection
Includes the United Nations Treaty Series, which includes over 158,000 records of bilateral and multilateral treaties. Also includes the League of Nations Treaty Series.

Westlaw Requires a username and password, which is supplied to Widener Law students and faculty.

WorldCat
Search for books, journals, videos, and other items available in libraries worldwide.

Co-Director & Reference/Technical Services Librarian