Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

1L Success - Resources for Succeeding in Law School: Finding Journal Articles

InterLibrary Loan

Obtaining Books and Articles through InterLibrary Loan

If none of the Widener libraries own the book or article you need, you may request it through Interlibrary loanILLiad is the Interlibrary loan service used by Widener.  Please note that you must register for ILLiad before you can request materials through InterLibrary Loan.  To register, click on Iliad and then on your respective library.

If you are a registered user of ILLiad, simply enter your username and password to continue.

Once you have registered, fill in as much of the request form as possible. The more information you provide, the better.

Most photocopies will be delivered electronically. You will be notified via your Widener e-mail account with a link to your article which will be in .pdf format.

All interlibrary loan items, except copied articles, must be returned to the Information Desk by the due date.

Finding Journal Articles

Finding Journal Articles

To locate journal articles, perform a search in one of the databases listed below.  The following databases are listed on the library’s webpage under the Research Tools feature or by going directly to: http://law.widener.edu/LawLibrary/Research/Databases.aspx.

Use the databases to search for articles on your topic.  Some databases provide full-text display of articles while others only provide citations to, or abstracts of, articles.  Some of the databases linked to in this Guide are subscription databases.  Access is available to these databses on the Widener Campus and also off campus.

Lexis & Westlaw - all Widener students have an individual Lexis & Westlaw password. If you have trouble with your password please contact Lexis or Westlaw.

Other Databases - When using other databases off campus you may be prompted for your name and library barcode number.  The library barcode number is printed on the back of your student ID.

EbscoHost--Scholarly, business, health and other journals. Also includes newspapers and general magazines.

Index to Legal Periodicals and Books--Index to law reviews, journals and books. Some full text available.

JSTOR--JSTOR is an online collection of journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences.

LegalTrac--Index to legal journals and newspapers, includes selected full-text articles.

Lexis

ProQuest--General magazines and periodicals online. Including historical New York Times and Wall Street Journal.

WorldCat--Search for books, journals, videos, and other items available in libraries worldwide.

SSRN Social Science Research Network(Locate SSRN by searching in the library catalog where Title = SSRN)

SSRN's objective is to provide worldwide distribution of research to authors and their readers and to facilitate communication among them at the lowest possible cost.

Westlaw

Subject Guide