Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Copyright & Fair Use: Links to OER Resources

This guide provides a general overview of copyright issues.

undefined

OER Websites

OER Database ARTStor Images

ArtSTOR Public Collections 

Artstor’s ever-growing public collections offer approximately 1 million freely accessible images, videos, documents, and audio files from library special collections, faculty research, and institutional history materials, as well as hundreds of thousands of open access images from partner museums. NOTE: we only have access to the public collections at this time.

Creative Commons

OER Textbooks & Books

OER Journal Collections

Library Resources

The library has many resources that can be used in your courses. These are not open education resources but are part of our library subscriptions.

Databases with full text articles. Each article has a permalink.  Share the permalink with your students.

Ebook collections   We have several ebook collections with hundreds of thousands of books via Wolfgram library.

Streaming Video services:  AVON/Academic Video Online and Psychotherapy.net available via Wolfgram library.  Both AVON and Psychotherapy.net are captioned.

Be Wary of OER Publishers

Predatory Open Access Journals exist for the sole purpose of profit, not the dissemination of high-quality research findings and furtherance of knowledge. These predators generate profits by charging author fees, also known as article processing charges (APCs), that far exceed the cost of running their low-quality, fly-by-night operations.

Charging a fee is not itself a marker of a predatory publisher: many reputable OA journals use APCs to cover costs, especially in fields where research is often funded by grants. (Many subscription-based journals also charge authors fees, sometimes per page or illustration.) However, predatory journals are primarily fee-collecting operations—they exist for that purpose and only incidentally publish articles, generally without rigorous peer review, despite claims to the contrary."

DOAJ is considered a Open Access Journal whitelist, listing journals it has vetted and found to be of good quality.

Beall's List lists OA journals it deems "Potential, possible, or probable predatory scholarly open-access publishers.

From ACRL/ Academic and College Research Libraries: Beyond Beall’s List: Better understanding predatory publishers