Skip to main content
site header image

Commonwealth Law School Digital Study Aids: West Academic

Access to hundreds of study aids through West Academic, LexisNexis Digital Library, and Wolters Kluwer platforms.

West Academic

All Widener Law Commonwealth students, faculty and staff have unlimited online access to 500+ West Academic Study Aids Subscription.  Study Aid Series in the online collection include: Acing, Black Letter Outlines, Concepts and Insights, Concise Hornbook Series, Exam Pro, Gilbert Law Summaries, Nutshells, Sum & Substance Audio, and more...

What's New

New! 

High Court Case Summaries and Short and Happy Guides Audio Books 

Coming Soon! 

Interactive Quizzing - Exam Pro Series, Acing Series, MPRE, and 1L of a Ride (McClurg)

Recent Releases

New titles and editions are made available in the Study Aids Digital Collection as soon as they are published. You will find a listing of titles released in the last 90 days under the Recent Releases module on the home page.

Here are a few of the latest releases:

Academic Success -  Stay Ahead of the Pack: Your Comprehensive Guide to the Upper Level Curriculum

Bar Review -  Mastering Multiple Choice for Federal Civil Procedure MBE Bar Prep and 1L Exam Prep, 3d

Career Success -  From Finals to the Firm: The Top Ten Things New Associates Should Know, 3d

Nutshell Series -  Legal Research in a Nutshell,13th

Support

Accessing the Online Collection

  1. Go to the West Academic Study Aids Subscription website from any wired computer on campus, library or computer lab computer.
  2. Create an account using your Widener email address. 
  3. After your account is created, you can sign in to your account anytime, anywhere.

 

Online Reading Tools

NEW! WEST ACADEMIC LIBRARY DESKTOP APP In addition to a mobile app, the desktop West Academic Library app is now available allowing students to download and read any of the titles available in the digital collection offline on their desktop, laptop, ipad or phone.

The West Academic Library App is a FREE mobile app for use on any Apple or Android device. The Mobile app allows you to read, highlight and take notes or listen to audio lectures while offline (without an internet connection).

1. Download the mobile app

Visit the Apple App Store or Google Play and search for the West Academic Library App. Download the app to your mobile device. 

2. Select a Book or Audio Lecture

Sign in to subscription.westacademic.com, find the title you are interested in reading and check the “available offline” checkbox next to the book. This will download the book and make it viewable on your mobile device. 

3. Go Mobile

Sign in to your mobile app and the book you have selected will be on your bookshelf. 

4. Read, Highlight and Take Notes

After opening a book, the content is viewable in a new easy-to-use eReader. You can read, highlight, and take notes offline through your mobile app. All notes and highlighting will appear on the book when viewed on either your computer or mobile device.

Co-Director & Reference/Technical Services Librarian

Suggestions for Incoming 1Ls

Cracking the Case Method, Legal Analysis for Law School Success

This title provides concise and down-to-earth information on how to succeed in law school, providing indispensable information to anybody who is considering applying to law school, preparing for his or her 1L year, or who currently is in law school.

Get a Running Start

This book offers a global overview of the first-year curriculum in a single volume. In short, accessible lessons, Get a Running Start covers all the major concepts taught in each of the courses most commonly offered in the first year of law school.

How to Write Law Exams

Written for every law student who ever wondered how to get better grades in law school, this title provides students of all levels with a detailed, comprehensive, and practical guide to success on law school exams.

Law School Success in a Nutshell

This title provides practical advice on studying and taking exams while offering information about types of legal practice that are available to students after graduation.

McClurg's 1L of a Ride

1L of a Ride provides a step-by-step navigational guide to both academic and emotional success in law school’s crucial first year. It essentially answers the questions, what’s the first year of law school really like and how can I make the most of it? Readers learn what to expect, when to expect it, and how to respond to it.

A Short and Happy Guide to Being a Law Student

In this volume students will find essential wisdom for the study of law and life and learn how to be their best in and out of the class from the unprecendented ten-time recipient of the Professor of the Year award.