LibGuides: Database Searching: EbscoHost

What it is:

EbscoHost is a powerful online reference system that offers a variety of databases that index journals, periodicals, and other resources from several different academic disciplines. These databases range from general reference collections to subject-specific databases, mainly from non-law disciplines such as business, education or humanities.

Academic-Search Premier, the most comprehensive database, indexes almost 4,000 peer-reviewed journals from a variety of disciplines.

Off-campus access to EbscoHost is limited to current Widener law students, faculty and staff who will be prompted for their name and the bar code number on the back of their Widener ID.

Searching EbsoHost:

EbscoHost databases:

When you log-in to EbscoHost, the database page provides you a list of databases with a brief description of each database, including coverage dates and what types of resources are included. In EbscoHost, searches can be run in one, multiple, or across all databases.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1975 - present
ASP provides comprehensive content, including PDF backfiles to 1975 for nearly 140 journals and searchable cited references for more than 1,000 titles. As a leading scholarly database, it provides access to acclaimed full-text journals, magazines, and other valuable resources.
Online Tutorial Available Here
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1985 - present
Business Source Elite provides full-text coverage of scholarly business, management and economics journals.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1983 - present
Education Research Complete covers the areas of curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding and related social issues. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Index to Legal Periodicals and Books This link opens in a new window
Index to law reviews, journals, and books. Some full-text available.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1895 to present
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. In addition to full-text journals, it contains informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. The database also provides data mined from priority coverage journals and selective coverage journals. Complete with extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers and other non-periodical content sources, the database also includes searchable cited references.
Online Tutorial Available Here

Searching EbscoHost:

The default search for EbscoHost is the Advanced Search, a guided search screen that allows key word searching in chosen fields, such as author, title, or company name.

The Basic Search automatically searches across selected fields such as author, title, and abstract.

Both the Basic and Advanced Searches offer four search modes: Boolean/Phrase, ALL search terms, ANY search terms, or SmartText Searching which is similar to a Google-type search.

Search results in the Basic and Advanced Searches can be limited by date, publication title, full-text, or whether a journal is peer-reviewed.

Once a search has been run in Basic or Advanced mode, results can be limited in a number of ways, including: type of source, subject, or date.

There is also a Visual Seach option, where a basic key word search can be graphically limited and sorted by criteria such as date and subject.

Saving results:

If an account is created, search results in EbscoHost can be saved into folders, and notes can be added to individual documents. Folders created by a user can be shared with others.