This is the "Prospective Employer Research" page of the "Available Resources for your Job Search and How to Use Them" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Available Resources for your Job Search and How to Use Them   Tags: employment, job search, jobs  

A guide with tools that can help you target potential employers.
Last Updated: Aug 19, 2015 URL: http://libguides.law.widener.edu/jobsearch Print Guide RSS Updates

Prospective Employer Research Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Prospective Employer Research

Almanac of the Federal Judiciary:  Available on Westlaw and CCH IntelliConnect

American Bench

Directory of Corporate Counsel

Biographical records of legal counsel for corporations and nonprofit organizations, and complete organization-level listings of corporate counsel

 

The Disciplinary Board of the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania

This page allows anyone to search attorneys who are admitted to practice in Pennsylvania, and obtain information such as an attorney's status or whether an attorney has been subjected to public discipline.

 

Foundation Center

The Form 990 serves two essential purposes.  First, it provides information that helps government agencies (the IRS and state charity regulators) enforce the laws that govern nonprofits.  For example, it helps government regulators learn whether groups have been spending their funds in a way that might cause them to lose their charitable and tax-exempt status.  Second, the Form 990 provides a great deal of financial information about the filing organization’s financial condition, about its financial strength or weakness and about such things as the sources of its income. See "How to Read the IRS For 990 & Find Out What it Means"

 

Library of Congress Private Company Research

Unlike public companies, private companies are not required to file with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) so the information that can be found in those documents is not necessarily available for companies that are private.

Pennsylvania Judicial Directory & County Courthouse Guide

 

Regulations.gov

Submit your comments on proposed regulations and related documents published by the U.S. Federal government. You can also use this site to search and review original regulatory documents as well as comments submitted by others.

 

Securities & Exchange Commission (SEC)

Companies, foreign and domestic, who are required by law to file forms with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), are required to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through EDGAR.  Forms such as quarterly and annual reports, proxy statements can provide corporate and financial information.

 


 


 

Search Local Resources

Become familiar with local publications covering your area.   For example, for south central Pennsylvania you may want to search:

 

Central Penn Business Journal

Harrisburg Patriot News

Lancaster Intelligencer Journal/Lancaster New Era

The Legal Intelligencer

Pennsylvania Law Weekly

York Daily Record

 

Many such publications have a web presence and can also be searched online on Lexis, Westlaw, Ebsco, and Proquest.  Use the A-Z Electronic Title List to find out in which database(s) you can search for full text articles.

Public libraries are another resource to consider.  They have collections of research publications and databases, and the librarians will be familiar with local resources and publications.


 

 

Web Sites

Glassdoor is a free jobs and career community that offers the world an inside look at jobs and companies. What sets us apart is our "employee generated content" – anonymous salaries, company reviews, interview questions, and more – all posted by employees, job seekers, and sometimes the companies themselves. Now with nearly 3 million salaries and reviews, you have all the information you might need to make your next career decision.

Plus, with Glassdoor's proprietary JobScope™ technology, job seekers have a new way to browse job listings and get instant, in-depth details for any job listing. We take job seekers beyond the information provided in your typical job description by seamlessly integrating salaries and reviews posted by employees, as well uncovering any Inside Connections™ they may have through their friends on Facebook. If our own content isn't enough information to help your with your decision, hopefully we can get you to a friend or friend-of-friend that will be able to answer your questions.

 

 

 

In today's competitive job market, the importance of making smart, well-informed career decisions cannot be quantified. Even in these difficult times, we know it's not enough to get any job - it's about the right job, at the right time. Vault is your one-stop career resource - dedicated to helping chart your best career path - and preparing you to land that highly competitive position.

Vault.com is the heart of our company. Within the web property, you will find comprehensive information, including:

  • Employer profiles and rankings, which combine the inside perspective of anonymous employee reviews with expert context from Vault's editors.
  • Industry blogs and news stories that help professionals stay on top of the trends and issues affecting their careers.
  • Message boards, where users freely discuss issues, ask questions and get advice.
  • Vault's job board, which matches employers and recruiters with top talent (that's you). To provide the most and best information relevant to your interests, our job postings are fully integrated with the career and company information throughout Vault's site.
  • Education information, which includes profiles on colleges, law schools and M.B.A. programs. Students and alumni also provide reviews of university life, academics and career prospects at schools across the nation and abroad.

 

 

"Top candidates rely on WetFeet's award-winning Web site for the most comprehensive company research and career-related information to help them make better career decisions, as well as for the latest job opportunities for college-educated talent. Additionally, WetFeet publishes the highly-regarded WetFeet Insider Guides series of career management guidebooks for job seekers, which are sold to job seekers worldwide. WetFeet's company and industry profiles and career management content powers the career sections of top properties across the Web, including major newspapers, universities, media companies, staffing firms, job boards and leading employer Web sites."
- from About Wetfeet, Wetfeet.com

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip