What it is:
EbscoHost is a powerful online reference system that offers a variety of databases that index journals, periodicals, and other resources from several different academic disciplines. These databases range from general reference collections to subject-specific databases, mainly from non-law disciplines such as business, education or humanities.
Academic-Search Premier, the most comprehensive database, indexes almost 4,000 peer-reviewed journals from a variety of disciplines.
You can access EbscoHost HERE or by using the search box to the right.
Off-campus access to EbscoHost is limited to current Widener law students, faculty and staff who will be prompted for their name and the bar code number on the back of their Widener ID.
Use a bar code scanner or QR Code app on your smart phone or tablet device to navigate to a video tutorial on searching the EbscoHost database.
When you log-in to EbscoHost, the database page provides you a list of databases with a brief description of each database, including coverage dates and what types of resources are included. Some of the individual databases in ProQuest include:
Academic-Search Premier: Full-text multi-disciplinary coverage of over 4,000 academic journals, with indexing of more than 8,5000 journals. The academic fields in this database include: history, political science, education, psychology, and religion.
Business Source Elite: Full-text coverage of over 1,000 business, marketing, management and economics-related journals and periodicals. Titles in this database include: Business Week, Harvard Business Review, and the Journal of Marketing.
CINAHL with Full Text: Advertised as the world's most comprehensive source for full-text nursing & allied health journals. The database has over 600 full-text titles dating back to 1981, and indexes 3,000 nursing and health-related publications.
Education Research Complete: Full-text coverage of over 1,400 education-related journals and periodicals, with indexing of more that 3,000 education research publications.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Addition: Full-text coverage of over 500 nursing and health journals. This database includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide with information on over 3,000 different brand names of drugs.
Index to Legal Periodicals and Books: Index to over 1,000 law journals, bar association publication, legal seminar papers and other law-related journals.
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981: Index to over 750 older law-related publications from the United States, Great Britian and New Zealand.
PsycARTICLES: Full-text coverage of nearly 80 peer-reviewed psychology and scientific journals with coverage back to 1894.
SocINDEX: Full-text coverage of over 800 sociology-related journals, periodicals and coference papers with coverage back to 1895.
In EbscoHost, searches can be run in one, multiple, or across all databases.
The default search for EbsoHost is the Advanced Search, a guided search screen that allows key word searching in chosen fields, such as author, title, or company name.
The Basic Search automatically searches across selected fields such as author, title, and abstract.
Both the Basic and Advanced Searches offer four search modes: Boolean/Phrase, ALL search terms, ANY search terms, or SmartText Searching which is similar to a Google-type search.
Search results in the Basic and Advanced Searches can be limited by date, publication title, full-text, or whether a journal is peer-reviewed.
Once a search has been run in Basic or Advanced mode, results can be limited in a number of ways, including: type of source, subject, or date.
There is also a Visual Seach option, where a basic key word search can be graphically limited and sorted by criteria such as date and subject.