This is the "Library Catalog" page of the "Database Searching" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Database Searching  

A research guide explaining the fundamentals of searching Widener's various subscription databases.
Last Updated: Aug 19, 2015 URL: http://libguides.law.widener.edu/databasesearch Print Guide RSS Updates

Library Catalog Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What it is:

Widener University's online catalog, searches the library collection of the Legal Informaction Center on both the Wilmington and Harrisburg campuses, plus the Wolfgram Memorial Library on the Chester campus.

The online catalog is key to determining what resources are available in the library collection, and precisely where they are located.  You can access the catalog Here or conduct a search from the box to the right.

 

Request for materials

Since the online catalog includes materials located at three seperate locations, you may find the item you want at another Widener library.  Just use the catalog's Request link on an item record to order the item you want.  The Request function is only for the use of current students, faculty and staff.

The Request function is only available for an item that is NOT located at your local library.  After clicking on the Request link, you will be asked to provide your name and the bar code number located on the back of your Widener ID. 

You will be alerted by E-Mail when your requested items are available.  Deliveries from other campuses usually arrive twice a week.

 

InterLibrary Loan

If none of the Widener libraries own the title or article you need, you can request it throught Widener's interlibary loan system called ILLiad.  This online service is available only to currently enrolled Widener students, faculty, and staff.  Alumni and visitors are encouraged to contact their local public library for ILL requests.

Click Here to access the ILLiad system, or from the library homepage under "Library Services."  Make sure you select your "home" library, whether Delaware or Harrisburg.  If an ILL account has not been established, click on "First Time Users" and follow the instructions. 

 

Searching the catalog:

 

Search the library catalog

 

How to search the catalog

The default setting for the Widener catalog is to perform a keyword search.  Just type your keywords in the search box and the catlog will find everything  that has those words anywhere in the title or description of an item. From the search box above, you can also select other options for searching: title,  author, call number, and ISBN.


For an advanced keyword search, select "advanced keyword" and click the green arrow in the top-right of the catalog page. 

With an advanced keyword search, you can search across multiple fields and add limiters such as location or publication date.

 

My library account

Part of Widener University's online catalog is the feature called "My Library Account."  With this, library search results can be saved, due dates for currently checked-out resources can be viewed, items renewed, and catalog searches can be saved.  To access this feature, click on the "My Library Acount" link on the top-left of the catalog page.  You will be asked to provide your name and the barcode numbers on the back of your Widener ID.

 

Printable Guide


Library Catalog Research Guide -
 

Catalog information

The information on a library resource that the Widener catalog reveals includes: call number, location, and status. 

The call number, in conjunction with the location tells you where and on which campus an item is located.  The three campus locations are: (D) Delaware, (H) Harrisburg, and (M) for Main Campus -- Chester.

The library locations are further broken down by internal locations such as Reference, Treatises, Stacks, Reserve, Study Aids, Microform, etc.  Click Here for map of the Delaware Library, and Here for a map of the Harrisburg Library.

An item's staus box tells whether the resource is available.  If the status is "check shelves," the item should be available on the shelf.  If an item has been checked-out, the catalog will show the due date.

Frequently, in search results, there is a link called "website" which links to an online database that has the electronic-version of the resource.  Inside an item record, there will also often be a link to the full-text version of the resourcem either from LexisNexis or Westlaw, or one of the libary's online databases.

 

QR Code

Use a bar code scanner or QR Code app on your smart phone or tablet device to navigate to a video tutorial on searching Widener's online catalog.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip