This is the "HeinOnline" page of the "Database Searching" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Database Searching  

A research guide explaining the fundamentals of searching Widener's various subscription databases.
Last Updated: Aug 19, 2015 URL: http://libguides.law.widener.edu/databasesearch Print Guide RSS Updates

HeinOnline Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What it is:

HeinOnline is a legal database that is primarily known for its Law Journal Library that has full-page scans from over 1,500 law-related periodicals.  Coverage is from the first volume of each periodical. 

Other collections include: retrospective coverage of the United States Code (1935 forward), the Code of Federal Regulations (1938 forward), and both Federal (volume 1 forward) and State session laws. A collection of federal legislative history and the full reprints from the English Reports are other examples of Hein's depth of coverage. 

To access HeinOnline, click HERE or use the search box to the right.

 

Remote Access

HeinOnline is available to law faculty and students off-campus.  You will need to enter the number printed above the barcode on the back of your Widener ID.  To access HeinOnline, click Here or use the search box to the right.

 

QR Code

Use a bar code scanner or QR Code app on your smart phone or tablet device to navigate to a video tutorial on searching the HeinOnline database.

 

Searching HeinOnline

 

Search Law Journal Library



Search Law Journal Library


 

Advanced HeinOnline Searching

With the "search" tab in HeinOnline, you can either search across all libraries, or you can search within a specific library.  It is usually helpful to restrict your search to as narrow a rang of resources as possible, wether a specific journal title, or a narrow date range.  Simple key word searching is sometimes helpful, with phrases placed within quotations.  For more advanced searching, consult Hein's advanced search syntex guide, HERE


Field searching of the HeinOnline database is also available by clicking on "Field Search" in the left pane of the screen.  A variety of specific fields, such as Title, Date or specific State or Country (of publication) can be used to better focus a search.  Narrowing a search to a subject is also available.  For detailed instructions, consult Hein's subject searching guide, HERE

 

Printable Guide

HeinOnline Research Guide
 

Retrieve by citation

If the citation for a law review article is known, navigate to that publication by using the "Title Lookup" box or alphabetically scrolling through the list of titles within a library. From the "Citation Navigatior" tab, enter the volume and page number in the Bluebook Citation box or paste a citation into the box below. To access HeinOnline, click Here

 

Printing from HeinOnline

One nice feature of HeinOnline having their articles in full-text PDF is that you can download an article and E-Mail it to yourself for later review on your computer.  Clicking on the printer icon in the top-right of the screen gives the option to print/download an entire article, or a "custom" range of pages.  Once the print/download button is clicked, the user can save the PDF document, or send it to a printer.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip