This is the "Home" page of the "Real World Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Real World Research   Tags: externs, law, legal practice, legal research  

Last Updated: Sep 20, 2017 URL: http://libguides.law.widener.edu/content.php?pid=220813 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

The study and practice of law touches on all aspects of life.  Students should be aware of resources available in various disciplines.  Students should also be conscious of cost when performing research.  Disciplined, cost-effective research requires familiarity with a resource.  The cost for using fee-based databases can be prohibitive.  Depending on your work situation, you may not have access to databases and library resources that you have become accustomed to using during your law school career.

This guide provides a listing of mainly free Internet sites on a variety of information sources that may prove to be useful to practitioners.  In many cases, the information found on these Web sites are primary sources from the originating entities.  Sites charging a fee are indicated by $$$.

 


 

Local Public Libraries & County Law Libraries

  Public Libraries

Take advantage of the online databases offered through your local public library.  Many public libraries subscribe to databases that provide business and news information and full-text journal articles.  These databases are usually accessible from remote locations if you have a public library card.

  Free Library of Philadelphia  A Free Library card is available at no cost to anyone who lives, works, pays taxes, or goes to school in the City of Philadelphia. In addition, anyone who lives in the state of Pennsylvania can obtain a Free Library card without charge.  Access electronic databases, downloadable eBooks, Audiobooks, Magazines, Streaming Videos and Music, and Digital Leraning Resources.

Need a book that you can't find in your library?  Check Worldcat to see if any other libraries in your area may have the book in its collection.

   County Law Libraries

Many Pennsylvania counties have law libraries which are open to the public during the hours that the Court House is open; circulation of materials, however, is generally limited to members of the County Bar.

 Cumberland County (Carlisle, Pennsylvania)

Jenkins Law Library (Philadelphia)
Montgomery County (Norristown, Pennsylvania)

York County Law Library (York, Pennsylvnia)

 

Pennsylvania Bar Association (Case Maker, etc.)

       

 

Search the Widener Law Library Catalog

 

Widener Law Databases

Search Widener Law Databases

When accessing these databases off campus, you may be prompted for your name and library barcode number. The library barcode number is printed on the back of your student ID.

Real World Research

Profile Image
Ed Sonnenberg
Contact Info
Send Email

Reference/Electronic Services Librarian

Profile Image
Stephanie Engerer
Logo - LinkedIn
Contact Info
P: (717) 541-3953
F: (717) 541-3998
Send Email
 

Chat with a librarian

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip