Finding Journal Articles
Finding Journal Articles
Use the databases to search for articles on your topic. Some databases provide full-text display of articles while others only provide citations to, or abstracts of, articles:
BNA-- Criminal Law Reporter
CILP (Current Index to Legal Periodicals) - Weekly index of newly published law review articles, look for the heading "Criminal Law and Procedure"
EbscoHost--Scholarly, business, health and other journals. Also includes newspapers and general magazines.
Index to Legal Periodicals and Books--Index to law reviews, journals and books. Some full text available.
JSTOR--JSTOR is an online collection of journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
LegalTrac--Index to legal journals and newspapers, includes selected full-text articles.
ProQuest--General magazines and periodicals online. Including historical New York Times and Wall Street Journal.
WorldCat--Search for books, journals, videos, and other items available in libraries worldwide.
SSRN Social Science Research Network(Locate SSRN by searching in the library catalog where Title = SSRN)
SSRN's objective is to provide worldwide distribution of research to authors and their readers and to facilitate communication among them at the lowest possible cost.
Westlaw and Lexis both have journal databases that can be searched for articles on specific subjects.
- Criminal Law Deskbook, Available on Lexis
- Substantive Criminal Law KF9219 .L386 2003
- Constitutional rights of the accused KF9619 .C64 1996 Also available on Westlaw
Lawyers' work and strategy
- The criminal lawyer's job : a survival guide KF9656 .S7 2006
- Criminal Law Defenses, Available on Westlaw
- Defense of Narcotics Cases, Available on Lexis
- The prosecution and defense of sex crimes, Available on Lexis
- The changing role of the American prosecutor KF9640 .C454 2008
- Prosecutorial misconduct : law, procedure, forms KF9640 .L38 2008, Also available on Westlaw
- Wharton's Criminal Procedure KF9619 .W48 2002
- Criminal Procedure KF9619 .L34 2007. Also available on Westlaw
- Moore's Federal Practice, KF8820 .A195, Criminal section is also available on Lexis
- Federal practice and procedure (Wright and Miller) KF8840 .W68, Also available on Westlaw
- The New Wigmore : a treatise on evidence is published in three parts listed below. Each title is available in print in the library and also through the library's subscription to CCH/ IntelliConnect database (for off campus access you must contact Reference Librarian, Janet Lindenmuth before you log on for the 1st time.)
- Wharton's Criminal Evidence KF9660 .W43 1997, Also available on Westlaw
- Search and seizure : a treatise on the Fourth Amendment KF9630 .L26 2004, Also available on Westlaw
- Searches & seizures, arrests and confessions KF9625 .R532, Also available on Westlaw
- Criminal trial techniques KF9656 .B34 1994 Also available on Westlaw
- Courtroom criminal evidence KF9662 .C68 2005 Also available on Lexis
- Criminal offenses and defenses in Pennsylvania available on Westlaw
- West's Pennsylvania practice series - criminal procedure KFP80 .W47 vol. 2 Also available on Westlaw
- The library has a large collection of publications from the Pennsylvania Bar Institute (PBI) they are practitioner oriented materials on a variety of legal topics. To find PBI titles on the subject of Criminal Law search the library catalog for the keywords: pbi criminal