This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Global Health Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Global Health Law  

A research guide for students participating in Prof. Michele Forzley's seminar, Global Health and the Law, Spring 2012.
Last Updated: Aug 5, 2016 URL: http://libguides.law.widener.edu/content.php?pid=173099 Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Accessing Databases From Off Campus

Some of the databases linked in this guide are subscription databases. Access to these subscription databases is available to current Widener Delaware Law School students, faculty and staff only. Access is available to these individuals on the Widener campus and remotely from off campus.

Lexis and Westlaw- all Widener Delaware Law School JD, MJ and LLM students have an individual password. If you have trouble with your password please contact the vendor.

Other databases - You may be prompted for your name and library barcode number when accessing other data bases from off campus. The library barcode number is the long number in small type printed on the back of your Widener ID.

 

InterLibrary Loan

Obtaining Books and Articles through InterLibrary Loan

If none of the Widener libraries owns the book or article you need, you may request it through Interlibrary Loan. Use the Interlibrary Loan Form on our library web page, select the campus on which you are located. If you haven't used ILL before you will need to click on "first time users" to create an account.  If you are already a registered user enter your username and password to continue.

When making your ILL request, please fill in as much of the request form as possible. The more information you provide, the better.

Most photocopies will be delivered electronically. You will be notified via your Widener e-mail account with a link to your article which will be in PDF format.

All Interlibrary Loan items, except copied articles, must be returned to the Circulation Desk by the due date.

 

Finding Articles

Finding Journal Articles

To locate articles on your topic, perform a search in one of the databases listed below. The following databases are listed on the library’s webpage under Research Tools or go directly to: http://law.widener.edu/LawLibrary/Research/Databases.aspx.

Some databases provide full-text display of articles, while others only provide citations or abstracts of articles:

A-Z List -- A database of databases where you can search by publication title, and the results show which database has it and years of coverage. Use Interlibrary Loan for articles and books not in our collections.

BNA -- Publishes topical newsletters and updates for practicioners. Among the libraries it includes:

EbscoHost -- Scholarly, business, health and other journals. Also includes newspapers and general magazines.

HeinOnline -- The Law Journal Library includes PDFs of most journals from their inception to the present. HeinOnline includes other valuable libraries: Foreign and International Law Resources Database; U.S. Code; U.S. Congressional Documents; U.S. Federal Agency Documents; U.S. Federal Legislative History Library; U.S. Statutes at Large; U.S. Supreme Court Library, etc. HeinOnline has limited searching capabilities, so its value is in retrieving articles once you have a citation.

JSTOR -- JSTOR is an online collection of scholarly journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences, and includes PDFs and/or abstracts of articles.

LegalTrac -- Index to legal journals and newspapers, includes some selected full-text articles. Look for the green and blue LS logo for links to articles in other databases.

Lexis -- LAWREV is the Lexis library of law reviews. You can add tabs for both International Law and Health Law in LEXIS.

ProQuest -- General magazines and periodicals online. Including historical New York Times and Wall Street Journal.

SSRN -- SSRN features a large number of freely dowloadable scholarly papers.

Westlaw -- JLR is the WESTLAW library of law reviews. You can add tabs for both International Law and Health Law in WESTLAW.

 

Finding Books

Finding Books on International Health Law in the Library

Materials in the Widener University Libraries are classed according to the Library of Congress classification schedule. To find a treatise on international law, search the online library catalog, libcat.widener.edu.

You can perform a keyword search using your topic and international or the name of a country. A keyword search is a broader search and you will likely receive more hits than if you perform a subject-specific search. Keep it simple.

You can also search for the Library of Congress subject heading search International Law. This search will generate a list of narrower subjects dealing with international law, including international law periodicals and international law history.  Also try other subject headings such as Public health, Medical care, Public health laws, Health care, etc. to find materials in the Widener libraries.

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip