This is the "Pennsylvania Law Office Management" page of the "Pennsylvania Legal Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Comprehensive list of Pennsylvania related legal resources available on the web.
Last Updated: Jan 31, 2017 URL: http://libguides.law.widener.edu/paresources Print Guide RSS Updates

Pennsylvania Law Office Management Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Web Resources: Going Solo

Flying Solo: The Nuts and Bolts of Building a Solo Practice
Concise and current list of considerations for opening a solo practice.

Guide to Opening an Office
ABA's Solo, Small Firm, and General Practice Division's discussion of important decisions to make when opening a new law office.

Her Virtual Law Office
Blog written by lawyer who largely maintains an online-only presence. She offers a free VLO 101 seminar as an introduction to virtual law practice.

The Lawyerist
A law firm marketing, technology and practice blog.

Marketing a Solo
Findlaw's article on how to best market a new solo practice.

PBA: Law Practice Management
The Pennsylvania Bar Association has a number of resources related to law office management available to its members.

Law Office Management Assistance Program
Created to assist Massachusettes lawyers, the start-up kit has good information and is adaptable for Pennsylvania or any state bar.

MyShingle.com
Blog focused on establishing and maintaining a solo law practice.

Solo Practice Technology
The Lawyerist's down and dirty recommendations of minimum technology purchases for a new law firm.

Virtual Law Practice
A blog dedicated to the legal, business, and ethical issues associated with opening a "virtual law practice," where the bulk of client representation and communication takes place online.

 

 

Books in the Library

Cover Art
The Associate As Rainmaker - David King Keller
Call Number: KF316.5 K45 2011
ISBN: 1616329955
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
The Lawyer's Guide to Working Smarter with Knowledge Tools - Marc Lauritsen
Call Number: KF320.A1 L38 2010
ISBN: 1604428260
Publication Date: 2011

Cover Art
The Paperless Law Office - Benjamin F. Yale
Call Number: KF318.Y35 2012
ISBN: 1614383723
Publication Date: 2012


Solo by Choice - Carolyn Elefant
Call Number: KF300.Z9 E44 2008
ISBN: 9780940675582
Publication Date: 2008

Cover Art
Virtual Law Practice - Stephanie L. Kimbro
Call Number: KF320.A9 K56 2010
ISBN: 1604428287
Publication Date: 2011


 

Legal Research Database Options

Remember, it is critical that you rely on "good law." See HERE 

There are a variety of legal research databases available, ranging from the very expensive to several low-cost options.  The major players in the field include:

 

Includes federal and state statutes and cases and a variety of practice-oriented secondary sources, business information and docket searches.

 

Includes federal and state statutes and cases and limited legislative information. Included in a membership to the Pennsylvania Bar Association.

 

Premium subscription covers federal and state statutes, cases, regulations, and access to authority-check.

  

Subscriptions can include a range of state and federal primary law, plus a wide-range of secondary sources and other materials.

 

LoisLawConnect includes federal and state statutes, cases, and regulations. Subscriptions can include optional secondary source libraries. Available through law library database list when on campus.

 


Includes federal and state statutes, cases and court rules.  Access some legal newspapers, forms, jury verdicts and other practice-oriented materials. Available through law library database list when on campus.

Subscriptions can include a range of state and federal primary law, plus a wide-range of secondary sources and other materials. 

 

Alternative Databases Presentation:

 

Topics in Digital Practice

Topics in Digital Law Practice
This free webinar from CALI addresses a number of issues connected with digital or the primarily "online" practice of law. Sessions include: digital practice, document automation, and free legal research.  The list of links after each hour session are a valuable resource for attorneys looking to establish their practice.

 

Ethics of Virtual Law Office

VLO appears proper in PA
Virtual Law Practice Blog

Legal Ethics of Maintaining a VLO, Formal Opionion 2010-200
Pennsylvania Bar Association Committee on Legal Ethics and Professional Responsibility

 

 

Ethics of Social Media

Ethical Obligations for Attorneys Using Social Media:
Formal Opinion 2013-300

 

Law Tech Talk:

For a list of links to information on technology considerations important to law firm management, check out THIS resarch guide!

 

Law Office Management Guides

Law Office Management Guide
Alleghney County Bar Assoc.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip