This is the "Pennsylvania Practice Materials & Form Books" page of the "Pennsylvania Legal Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Comprehensive list of Pennsylvania related legal resources available on the web.
Last Updated: Jan 31, 2017 URL: http://libguides.law.widener.edu/paresources Print Guide RSS Updates

Pennsylvania Practice Materials & Form Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

PA Legal Encyclopedias

Legal Encyclopedias are a good resource to find a short answer or legal definition of a legal term in your jurisdiction. The footnotes will often have reference to primary materials such as cases or statutes.

Pennsylvania Law Encyclopedia
This set is organized alphabetically by legal term. There is a general index and a table of cases to use as finding aids.
KFP365.P4

 

Mobile Apps For Practicioners

Bloomberg
For iPhone, iPad, Android and Blackberry, this app gives you up-to-date stock and business information. Click HERE for the free download.

FastCase
For iPhone or iPad, this resource allows for searching of Federal cases and statutes, as well as many state cases and statutes.  Click HERE for a review provided by Justia, and click HERE to download the app for iPhone and HERE for iPad. Currently it is free to download/register/use the iPhone/iPad app, though there is a charge to use FastCase on a standard computer. United States cases (including bankruptcy) and statutes are available.  Case law is available for all states and selected state
statutes.  Pennsylvania statutes are NOT currently available on FastCase.

Lexis Advance
Mobile App version of Lexis Advance, including case law, statutes, and Shepards reports.

Mobile Apps for Legal Research
From the Harvard Law Library

Westlaw Next
Mobile App version of Westlaw Next, including case law , statutes and Key Cite reports.

U.S. Code
Download a serachable version of the United States Code onto your iPhone or iPad HERE.  This application is provided by a law professor at Florida State University.

 

PA Judicial Directories

Pennsylvania Attorney's/Secretary's Handbook
Lists courthouse addresses, phone numbers, and other contact information connected with courthouses and judges.
KFP77.P4

Pennsylvania Judicial Directory and County Courthouse Guide
Contains courthouse addresses, phone numbers, other contact information and fee schedules for the various courts throughout Pennsylvania.
KFP508.A19.P46

 

PA Jury Instructions

Pennsylvania Suggested Standard Civil Jury Instructions
KFP542.A6 P3

Pennsylvania Suggested Standard Criminal Jury Instructions
KFP542.A65 P4

 

Comprehensive Pennsylvania Practice Sets

There are five comprehensive sets of Pennsylvania practice materials that cover most legal topics in a concise practicioner-oriented format available in the Widener Law Library:

Goodrich Amram 2d : Procedural Rules Service with Forms.
This set is organized numerically by Pennsylvania Rule of Civil Procedure and contains sample forms connected with many of the rules. Online availability is through either LexisNexis or Westlaw.
KFP529.A43.A2

Pennsylvania Keystone: Lawyer's Desk Library of Practice
This set is organized by broad topic, with the index and popular case table in the front volume, with the scope of this primarily limited to civil practice. A limited number of forms are available.
KFP77.L37

Standard Pennsylvania Practice 2d.
This set is organized by broad legal topic and includes a limited number of sample forms. Online availability is through Westlaw.
KFP530.S85

Summary of Pennsylvania Jurisprudence 2d.
This set is organized by broad legal topic, each volume having an index. There are no forms in this set. Online availability is through Westlaw.
KFP81.L4

West's Pennsylvania Practice Series
This set includes 23 individual volumes focused on different areas of Pennsylvania practice. Each volume is authored by a practicioner focusing in that area, with most containing sample forms. Many volumes have a CD-ROM of downloadable forms. Online availability is through Westlaw.
KFP80.W47

 

Helpful Practioner-Related Databases

* LexisNexis and Westlaw passwords are only provided to current law faculty and students . 

 



Under the search tab for Pennsylvania sources, the Search Analysis and CLE Materials have a number practicioner-oriented databases available, primarily by practice area.  For example, under Criminal Law & Procedure, the Pennsylvania Criminal Law Encyclopedia, Moore's Federal Practice, and Criminal Defense Techniques can be searched in one databse.  Other databases, as Trial Preperation for Prosecutors, have narrow, in-depth treatment of a specific legal topic.

 

 

The treatise library is particularily helpful for law practicioners with subject-specific content available such as evidence and family law.  Mauet's trial practice library is a good resource, containing content dealing with subjects such as pre-trial issues and trial strategy.



There are a number of databases in Westlaw which contain practicioner-oriented secondary sources specific to Pennsylvania. The Pennsylvania Practice Library (Identifier: PAPRACLIB) is composed of Goodrich-Amram, Standard Pennsylvania Practice, Summary of Pennsylvania Jurisprudence, and West's Pennsylvania Forms). There are also practice-specific databases in Westlaw, such as Pennsylvania -- Criminal Litigation Combined (Identifier: PA-CRIMLIT) that combines Standard Pennsylvania Practice, Summary of Pennsylvania Jurisprudence, West's Pennsylvania Practice -- Criminal Procedure, and West's Pennsylvania Practice -- Driving Under the Influence.

 

 
Contact librarian for username and password.

SmartLitigator has a good selection of Pennsylvania practicioner-oriented resources.  Content includes Pennsylvania D & C opinions, local rules for every county, and a good selection of forms, sample briefs, and motions.

 

Secondary Sources Presentation:

 

PA Form Books

There are three comprehensive Pennsylvania form book sets that cover a wide range of legal situations.

Dunlap-Hanna Pennsylvania Forms
This set contains a general index for a finding aid; available online through LexisNexis
KFP68.D85

The Pennsylvania Transaction Guide: Legal Forms
This set contains a general index for a finding aid; available online through LexisNexis.
KFP68.P45

West's Pennsylvania Forms
Each individually titled volume has its own index as a finding aid; available online through Westlaw.
KFP64.W48

 

PA Civil Practice Treatises

Pennsylvania Civil Practice
KFP530.S47

Pennsylvania Civil Practice Handbook: State and Federal Courts
KFP530.P46

Pennsylvania Trial Guide: Trial Procedure
KFP538.F454

 

PA Criminal Practice Treatises

Pennsylvania Criminal Practice
Volumes 16-16C of the West Pennsylvania Practice Series.
KFP80.W47

Pennsylvania Trial Guide: Criminal
KFP579.P4

 

Pennsylvania Ethics

Look up disciplinary action taken against licensed PA attorneys.

Pennsylvania Rules of Professional Conduct
from the PA Code

Analysis and discussion of the Pennsylvania Rules of Professional Conduct, including citation to Pennsylvania ethics opinions:

 

Fundamentals of Practice Materials

These books offer sections that deal with common pleadings, forms, motions, discovery, and other typical elements of a legal case:

Best Practices in Pre-Trial Litigation in the Federal Courts

KF8754.A75 B48 2011

Fundamentals of Civil Practice and Procedure
KFP530.A2 F86 2012

Fundamentals of Personal Injury
KFP539.P4 F85 2012

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip