Skip to main content
site header image

Bioterrorism: Secondary Sources

Finding Journal Articles

Finding Journal Articles

 To locate articles on the topic of Bioterrorism perform a search in one of the databases listed below.  The following databases are listed on the library’s webpage under the Research Tools feature or by going directly to: http://law.widener.edu/LawLibrary/Research/Databases.aspx.

Use the databases to search for articles on your topic.  Some databases provide full-text display of articles while others only provide citations to, or abstracts of, articles:

BNA-- Homeland Security Breifing

CILP (Current Index to Legal Periodicals) - Weekly index of newly published law review articles, look for the headings "Criminal Law and Procedure" or  "Military, War and Peace"

EbscoHost--Scholarly, business, health and other journals. Also includes newspapers and general magazines.

Index to Legal Periodicals and Books--Index to law reviews, journals and books. Some full text available.

JSTOR--JSTOR is an online collection of journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences.

LegalTrac--Index to legal journals and newspapers, includes selected full-text articles.

ProQuest--General magazines and periodicals online. Including historical New York Times and Wall Street Journal.

WorldCat--Search for books, journals, videos, and other items available in libraries worldwide.

SSRN Social Science Research Network(Locate SSRN by searching in the library catalog where Title = SSRN)

SSRN's objective is to provide worldwide distribution of research to authors and their readers and to facilitate communication among them at the lowest possible cost.

Westlaw and Lexis both have journal databases that can be searched for articles on specific subjects.

Secondary Sources

 Treatises

Search in the online library catalog (http://libcat.widener.edu/) for treatises on Bioterrorism. A few of the more familiar treatises on Bioterrorism and their call number location in the library are:

What corporate America needs to know about bioterrorism / Colonel Randall Larsen. (Briefly ... Perspectives on Legislation, Regulation, and Litigation, June 2006). - National Legal Center for the Public Interest. - KF211.5 .B75 v.7 no. 6.

Global epidemics / Edited by Christopher Mari. (Reference shelf ; v. 79, no. 2). - The H. W. Wilson Company. - RA649. G56 2007.

Foreign pathology in criminal cases / Michael Graham, MD. - Lexis/Nexis. -  KF8964 .G73 2006.

In the wake of terror: medicine and morality in time of crisis / Edited by Jonathan D. Moreno. - Massachusetts Institute of Technology. -  R725 .I53 2003.

Lost liberties: Ashcroft and the assault on personal freedom / Edited by Cynthia Brown.  - The New Press. - JC599 .U5 L63 2003.

Guide for the selection of chemical and biological decontamination equipment for emergency first responders. (NIJ Guide 103-00).  U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs, National Institute of Justice. - RA762 .G84 2001 v. 1 and  RA762 .G84 2001 v.2.

An introduction to biological agent detection equipment for emergency first responders. (NIJ Guide 101-00).  U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs, National Institute of Justice. - RA645.5 .I57 2001.

Series and Journals

 Bioterrorism Week, Atlanta.  Full text coverage: December 10, 2001 - current.  Available on Proquest,  LexisNexis and Westlaw.

Bioterrorism Watch.  Available on Westlaw. 

JAMA (The Journal of the American Medical Association) - R15 .A48  v. 227, January 7, 1974 - current.  Also available on the web (See Reference librarian for password). 

Health Affairs - RA410 .A1 H36 v.8 1988 - current (Also available through EBSCOHost, ProQuest and Publisher's web site).

Inquiry - RA410 .A1 I58 v.27 1990 - current (Also available through EBSCOHost and Publisher's web site: see Reference librarian for password).

The Milbank Quarterly - RA418.3.U6 M54 v.63 1985 - 2008 (Also available through  EBSCOHost and Wiley Interscience). 

Journal of Public Health Policy - RA421 .J92 v.20 1999 - current (Also available through JStor and Proquest).

New Solutions: a journal of environmental & occupational health policy - RA566.3 N49 v.l 1990 - v.19 no.4 2009 (Also available online).

OH&S (Occupational Health & Safety) - RC 963 .A37 v. 60 1991 - current (Also available through Proquest). 

EPA Journal - TD169.U54 v.7 1981 through v.21 1995 (Also available through HeinOnline).