American Society of International Law Headquartered in Washington, D.C., and chartered by Congress in 1906, ASIL’s mission is to foster the study of international law and to promote international relations on the basis of law and justice. Its electronic resources are freely available. EISIL allows access to its database of international treaties and conventions, web sites, and other research tools, and includes publications of the World Health Organization, the United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA), and other primary documents.
Flare Index to Treaties (FIT), published by the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies, University of London. FIT provides a searchable database of basic information on over 1,500 of the most significant multilateral treaties (three or more parties to the instrument) from 1856 to the present. It includes details of where the full text of each treaty may be obtained in paper and, if available, electronic format on the Internet. It is searchable by title, keyword, date, and place where the treaty was concluded.
Global Legal Information Network (GLIN). A database of official texts of laws, regulations, judicial decisions, and other complementary legal sources contributed by governmental agencies and international organizations, GLIN is free and accessible to legal researchers. Members contribute the full texts of their published documents to the database in their original languages, which are then accompanied by a summary in English. GLIN is also accessible through Guide to Law Online.
Guide to Law Online. An annotated compendium of Internet links prepared by the Law Library of Congress, the Guide serves as a portal to Internet sources of legal materials including international and multinational materials, laws and constitutions of foreign nations, U.S. Territories, etc.
PubMed. Provides access to more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Research Guide in Global Health Law. Georgetown Law Library’s extensive guide focuses “narrowly on international and cross-border legal regimes for addressing health law.” It includes links to the full text of the constitution and amendments of the World Health Organization (WHO), Rules of Procedure for the World Health Assembly, the English text of the International Health Regulations (IHR), etc.
World Health Organization. The directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system that "is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agends, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends." Includes data and statistics and pages on Health topics with links toWHO projects, initiatives, activities, information products, and contacts, organized by health and devlopment topics.
Zimmerman’s Research Guide (Lexis/Nexis). Zimmerman’s Guide is a work in progress providing free access to a myriad of topical legal materials, including the laws and constitutions of foreign countries.
